Exclusive: Vinyl Me, Please to Release 20th Anniversary Edition of Beck’s Odelay

Music News Beck
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Remember when alt-rock elder statesmen Beck had little more to his name than two turntables and a microphone? Well, you’re about to.

In celebration of its 20th anniversary, Beck’s 1996 sophomore album Odelay is getting an exclusive vinyl reissue via Vinyl Me, Please.

In selecting the record as their October album of the month, the VMP team will press and release Odelay on bourbon-colored, black-marbled 180-gram vinyl, a sentence which should have record collectors’ mouths watering.

In addition to the album itself, VMP’s reissue will include a 12” x 12” poster from the album’s original pressing, a 5” x 5” high-gloss sticker and a 12” x 12” original art print by Scott Hill, design director at The Original Champions of Design.

VMP head of music Cameron Schaefer said in a statement:

Odelay will forever exist as the album that took Beck from a slightly off-kilter, indie kid with no guarantees of success to a rock star and one of the most important artists of the past 20 years. Those albums don’t come around often so when they do we analyze, discuss and listen to them again and again. And ultimately, at Vinyl Me, Please, we celebrate them. We’re thrilled to be releasing this special-edition 20th Anniversary pressing of Beck’s Odelay and trust it will find a welcome place on the turntables of members around the world who value albums like this as much as we do.

To get your hands on a copy of this special-edition Odelay pressing, sign up for VMP by Oct. 15.

Feast your eyes and ears on Beck’s 2006 performance of a classic Odelay cut via the Paste Cloud player below, and find the album’s tracklist beneath that.

Odelay Tracklist:
1. Devil’s Haircut
2. Hotwax
3. Lord Only Knows
4. The New Pollution
5. Derelict
6. Novacane
7. Jack-Ass
8. Where It’s At
9. Minus
10. Sissyneck
11. Readymade
12. High 5 (Rock The Catskills)
13. Ramshackle

Recently in Music
More from Beck