Books

The 10 Best New Young Adult Books in February 2017

Books Lists young adult
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The 10 Best New Young Adult Books in February 2017

You might think some of February’s best Young Adult reads would include romance. And to some extent, they do. This month, the world of YA literature wants you to fall in love with everything from lush fantasy sagas (Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones) to epic space dramas (Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza). February also boasts some of Paste’s most anticipated YA books of 2017, including The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

Here we go!

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 3.44.01 PM.png 1. Denton Little’s Still Not Dead by Lance Rubin

Release Date: February 7th from Knopf Books for Young Readers

Why You’ll Love It: Denton Little’s Deathdate, the first book in Rubin’s quirky series, introduced us to a contemporary world where people happen to know the exact date they’re going to die. And poor Denton Little is set to die the day of his senior prom.

Don’t read on if you haven’t read the first book, but it turns out that things don’t go quite as expected. And in the second book, Denton Little’s Still Not Dead, the protagonist is chased by an agency investigating how he cheated death. You wouldn’t think a series about staring death down would be so funny, but here we are.

Description: The good news: Denton Little has lived through his deathdate. Yay! The bad news: He’s being chased by the DIA (Death Investigation Agency), he can never see his family again, and he may now die any time. Huh. Cheating death isn’t quite as awesome as Denton would have thought…

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

EMPRESS_THOUSAND_SKIES_RHODA.jpg 2. Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

Release Date: February 7th from Razorbill

Why You’ll Love It: One of our most anticipated titles of 2017 is finally here, and it’s a delight. Similar to a YA Game of Thrones in space, Empress of a Thousand Skies reveals a galaxy reigns by royalty and beset by war and political upheaval. And two teens find themselves in the middle of it all.

If you loved Across the Universe by Beth Revis or Red Rising by Pierce Brown, you’re going to inhale this book.

Description: Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he’s forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

KINGS_CAGE_AVEYARD.jpg 3. King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Release Date: February 7th from HarperTeen

Why You’ll Love It: The third book in Aveyard’s Red Queen series is upon us! If you’ve yet to dive into this bestselling fantasy series, I’ll avoid spoilers and dish the premise. Set in a world where people are divided by blood and placed into castes, this stunning fantasy series follows a teen girl named Mare who discovers that, despite being born with red blood, she has the gifts of those blessed with silver blood.

See, silver blooded humans have unbelievable abilities—it’s X-Men level stuff here. And when Mare’s abilities to control lightning reveal themselves, she becomes the catalyst in an uprising.

Description: Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

WINTERSONG_JONES.jpg 4. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

Release Date: February 7th from Thomas Dunne Books

Why You’ll Love It: Another one of our most anticipated YA books is finally here! If you loved Labyrinth and David Bowie’s iconic Goblin King, Jae-Jones has written a book just for you. Wintersong takes readers through a fantasy world as a teen girl seeks to save her sister from… you guessed it, a Goblin King.

But, this Goblin King isn’t all that he seems. With a stunning blend of music and magic, this is the perfect novel for fans of Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song and Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch.

Description: All her life, 19-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue Käthe and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

AMERICAN_STREET_IBI.jpg 5. American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Release Date: February 14th from Balzer + Bray

Why You’ll Love It: Zoboi’s novel explores what it means to chase the “American dream” and to be an immigrant in the United States. Considering the political climate these days, American Street proves to be an important book that I’m hoping a lot of readers discover. Zoboi’s writing is lyrical and beautiful, creating a book that’s hard to put down and a story impossible to ignore.

Description: On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

ShareTweetSubmitPinMore
Recently in Books