Jason Isbell Announces New Album The Nashville Sound

Music News Jason Isbell
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Jason Isbell Announces New Album <i>The Nashville Sound</i>

After teasing a new album and announcing a lengthy tour last month, Jason Isbell has confirmed his latest record. Titled The Nashville Sound, the project is set to be released June 16 via Isbell’s own Southeastern Records. Most notably, this marks Isbell’s first release to credit his superb backing band The 400 Unit since their 2011 album Here We Rest, before his solo career took off with his 2013 breakthrough Southeastern. Like Southeastern and 2015’s Something More Than Free, The Nashville Sound was produced by Dave Cobb, who’s also helmed albums by Chris Stapleton and Lake Street Dive, among countless others.

Isbell has yet to give out much more info on the album, but it will be interesting to hear the kinds of themes he tackles on what will be his sixth solo album. Today he also announced a five-night residency at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn., to celebrate the venue’s 125th anniversary, tickets for which go on sale this Friday, March 17 at 11 a.m. EST.

Find the album art and track listing for The Nashville Sound below, along with video from a session Isbell played at the Paste office back in 2010.

The Nashville Sound Album Art:

jason isbell the nashville sound.jpg

The Nashville Sound Tracklist:
01. Last Of My Kind
02. Cumberland Gap
03. Tupelo
04. White Man’s World
05. If We Were Vampires
06. Anxiety
07. Molotov
08. Chaos and Clothes
09. Hope The High Road
10. Something To Love

Recently in Music