Exclusive: Stream the New Album From Kinks Guitarist Dave Davies

Music News Dave Davies
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Exclusive: Stream the New Album From Kinks Guitarist Dave Davies

While a father and son teaming up to record a collaborative album together may sound like a fun family bonding exercise, things become much more momentous when the pair in question is Dave Davies, legendary guitarist for The Kinks, and his son Russ, who himself is an accomplished producer of electronic music. Open Road takes the elder Davies’ sharp songwriting skills and fuses them with a sense of musical adventurousness to explore a unique musical space that’s unlike any record he’s made yet. The album is out this Friday, March 31, on Green Amp Records, but Paste is exclusively streaming the record starting today.

“This was truly a collaborative thing,” Dave explains over the phone, and he means it; the entirety of recording for Open Road was handled by the pair. “Russ would come up with a musical idea, and I would think ‘Okay, where are we going to go with this?’” he says of the writing process, explaining, “Russ has been working in electronic music a long time. He has a really good sense of structure, of placement, of landscapes. He would bring me these amazing musical landscapes and I would work out lyrics and add in my guitar.” Those landscapes provide the album with a constantly shifting musical identity, ranging from quieter acoustic moments (“Path Is Long”), to grunge-inspired walls of distorted guitar (“King of Diamonds”), to cosmic electronica (“Chemtrails”), while Russ’ deft hand behind the boards provides cohesiveness. “It’s good to work with someone you trust,” Dave says of letting his son take the reigns on much of the album’s musical character, later adding, “When you can sit and listen to someone else’s ideas it helps more than it hurts. It’s a beautiful thing.”

When it comes to his lyrical work on Open Road, Davies sees something unifying in the multitude of ideas he tackles. “Each song suggested its own theme, but overall [the album] looks back on those innocent days gone by while also being hopeful for the future.” Some songs, like “Path Is Long,” clearly inhabit that nostalgic space, with Davies plainly recalling his schoolyard days and getting his first guitar, but he also adds that he doesn’t see too much benefit in dwelling on the past and hopes that comes across on the album as well, nor does he always need his lyrics to tell a story, often opting for the “more poetic” option. “You don’t always need to be precise, y’know?”

Dave Davies will head out for a run of U.S. tour dates next month—find those dates, along with the album’s tracklisting and cover art, below, beneath the full Open Road album stream and a 1987 Kinks concert from the Paste Cloud.

Open Road Tracklist:
01. Path Is Long
02. Open Road
03. Don’t Wanna Grow Up
04. King of Diamonds
05. Forgiveness
06. Sleep On It
07. Slow Down
08. Love Has Rules Of Its Own
09. Chemtrails

Open Road Cover Art:

Open Road (Cover-Image 3000x3000).jpg

Dave Davies Tour Dates:

06 – Milwaukee, Wis. @ The Northern Lights Theatre
08 – St. Charles, Ill. @ Arcada Theatre
11 – New York, N.Y.@ City Winery
12 – New York, N.Y.@ City Winery
13 – Natick, Mass. @ Center for the Arts
15 – North Truro, Mass. @ Payomet Performing Arts Center
16 – Hartford, Conn. @ Infinity Music Hall
17 – New Hope, Pa. @ Havana
20 – Derry, N.H. @ Tupelo Music Hall
22 – Riverhead, N.Y. @ Suffolk Theatre
24 – Annapolis, Md. @ Ram’s Head
29 – Atlanta, Ga. @ City Winery
30 – Nashville, Tenn. @ City Winery

01 – Nashville, Tenn. @ City Winery

Also in Music