Hear Previously Unreleased Prince Song "Electric Intercourse" From Purple Rain Reissue

Music Features Prince
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Hear Previously Unreleased Prince Song "Electric Intercourse" From <i>Purple Rain</i> Reissue

The mentions of Prince’s music vault being almost bottomless are legion, and the current going thought is that there’s enough material to release an album every year for the next century.

We’re slowly starting to hear more of that inexhaustible vault, and what’s been extracted today is “Electric Intercourse,” an outtake from Prince’s magnum opus Purple Rain. It’s got Prince singing about exactly what you would expect over some squelchy synthesizers and expertly timed piano trills. At one point, Prince lets out his soul singer wail and for a second, it feels like the Purple One hasn’t left us at all.

The Purple Rain reissue is out June 23 through NPG/Warner Bros., in both deluxe and expanded deluxe editions, and available for preorder here. Both versions feature the original album and 11 tunes that have never officially been released before. The latter also includes a disc of single edits and B-sides, and a live DVD recorded at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, N.Y., on March 30, 1985. You’ll find full tracklists for both versions below.

Stream “Electric Intercourse” via Spotify or Apple Music, and check out a 1982 Prince performance from the Paste Cloud below. While you’re at it, revisit another song from the vault, “Deliverance,” and read our review of the Deliverance EP here.


Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
01. Let’s Go Crazy
02. Take Me With U
03. The Beautiful Ones
04. Computer Blue
05. Darling Nikki
06. When Doves Cry
07. I Would Die 4 U
08. Baby I’m A Star
09. Purple Rain

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased
01. The Dance Electric
02. Love And Sex
03. Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
04. Electric Intercourse (studio)
05. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
06. Possessed (1983 version)
07. Wonderful Ass
08. Velvet Kitty Cat
09. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
10. We Can Fuck
11. Father’s Song


Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides
01. When Doves Cry (edit)
02. 17 Days
03. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
04. Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
05. Erotic City
06. Erotic City (“Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
07. Purple Rain (edit)
08. God
09. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
10. Another Lonely Christmas
11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
14. Baby I’m A Star (edit)
15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD: Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985
01. Let’s Go Crazy
02. Delirious
03. 1999
04. Little Red Corvette
05. Take Me With U
06. Do Me, Baby
07. Irresistible Bitch
08. Possessed
09. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
11. International Lover
12. God
13. Computer Blue
14. Darling Nikki
15. The Beautiful Ones
16. When Doves Cry
17. I Would Die 4 U
18. Baby I’m A Star
19. Purple Rain

Recently in Music