Broken Social Scene Announce First New Album Since 2010

Music News Broken Social Scene
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Broken Social Scene Announce First New Album Since 2010

At the end of March, Broken Social Scene debuted their first new song in seven years on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, and now the Canadian group’s much-anticipated new album, first revealed by Feist last fall, has been officially announced.

Earlier today, a Reddit poster pointed out a posting of the album in question on The Music Today, which included the album’s title, tracklist and release date. Not long after, BSS made the announcement official on Facebook and Twitter, simply posting:

A rep for the group confirmed to Pitchfork that the album will be released by City Slang/Arts & Crafts, and features a number of BSS cohorts, including Stars members Amy Millan and Evan Cranley, Metric members Emily Haines and James Shaw and more.

Judging by the Music Today audio preview of the album, it doesn’t sound like BSS have lost much of their collective power since 2010’s Forgiveness Rock Record, as they still vacillate between lush ambient sounds and surging rockers as well as anyone going.

See the album’s cover art and tracklist below, check out the band’s recent Colbert performance below and re-read Paste’s ranking of the best BSS side projects here.

Hug of Thunder Tracklist:
01. Sol Luna
02. Halfway Home
03. Protest Song
04. Skyline
05. Stay Happy
06. Vanity Pail Kids
07. Hug of Thunder
08. Towers and Masons
09. Victim Lover
10. Please Take Me With You
11. Gonna Get Better

Hug of Thunder Album Art:

Broken Social Scene Hug of Thunder Art.jpg

Recently in Music