Neil Young Announces Previously Unreleased Studio Album, Hitchhiker

Music News Neil Young
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Neil Young Announces Previously Unreleased Studio Album, <i>Hitchhiker</i>

To accompany the release of his massive online musical archive, Neil Young has released a “gem from his archives” in the form of a previously unreleased album. Recorded in 1976, Hitchhiker was produced by Young’s longtime studio collaborator, David Briggs, and will be available for preorder starting today.

Hitchhiker features 10 never-before-heard acoustic songs that were recorded in Malibu, Ca., in between recording Zuma and American Stars and Bars. Tracks include acoustic versions of Young classics like “Pocahontas” and “Powderfinger.”

Hitchhiker will be released on Sept. 8 via Reprise Records—you’ll find the tracklist and album art below. You can stream the title track here and preorder the album here. You can also check out Young’s 10 best political songs here, and watch a performance of his from the Paste Cloud below.

Hitchhiker Tracklist:
Side One:
01. Pocahontas
02. Powderfinger
03. Captain Kennedy
04. Hawaii
05. Give Me Strength

Side Two:
01. Ride My Llama
02. Hitchhiker
03. Campaigner
04. Human Highway
05. The Old Country Waltz

Hitchhiker Album Art:

Neil Young Hitchhiker Art.jpg

Recently in Music
More from Neil Young