Allah-Las Release New George Harrison Cover, "Fish On the Sand"

Music News Allah-Las
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Allah-Las Release New George Harrison Cover, "Fish On the Sand"

Vocalist Miles Michaud of Allah-Las says “Fish On the Sand” is “an often overlooked gem” from George Harrison’s Cloud Nine record, “one that we felt could sound good produced with a more moody, B-side style.”

“Fish On the Sand” is among a series of covers the band is completing for their album Covers #1, the first in an intended string of albums that will explore music they’ve just recently encountered, as well as songs they hold dear. Covers #1 comes out Nov. 3 via Mexican Summer.

The tracklist of Covers #1 will also include renditions of Kathy Heideman’s “The Earth Won’t Hold Me,” Further’s “JO Eleven” and Television’s “Hard On Love,” an unreleased song from Television’s Marquee Moon recording sessions.

Cloud Nine, Harrison’s 1987 album on which “Fish On the Sand” originally appears, also included the hit “Got My Mind Set on You.” Although the album as a whole harkened back to a romantic, ‘60s-era Beatles sound, “Fish On the Sand” and “Got My Mind Set On You” were quintessential upbeat ‘80s jams, and are worth preservation as per their original drum machine-instilled intent.

In addition to Allah-Las’ cover and tour dates, we’ve included Harrison’s version below for comparison, as well as an Allah-Las performance from the Paste Cloud—or perhaps you’d care to revisit a day in the life of the L.A. band. In addition to the Covers series, they’re also working on their next LP.

Allah-Las Tour Dates:

27 – Seattle, Wash. @ Neumos
28 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Fortune Sound Club

01 – Tofino, B.C. @ Tofino Legion Branch 65
04 – Portland, Ore. @ Revolution Hall
06 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Bimbo’s 365 Club
08 – Santa Barbara, Calif. @ Soho Restaurant & Music Club
13 – Joshua Tree, Calif. @ Desert Daze
18 – San Diego, Calif. @ Music Box
21 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Regent Theater

20 – New York, N.Y. @ Brooklyn Steel

Recently in Music