Langhorne Slim Releases "Zombie" off Forthcoming New Album Lost at Last Vol. 1

Music News Langhorn Slim
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Langhorne Slim Releases "Zombie" off Forthcoming New Album <i>Lost at Last Vol. 1</i>

“Let’s fall in love with our telephones off,” folk-punker Langhorne Slim (aka Sean Scolnick) sings on “Never Break,” the title song of an EP that previews three songs off Slim’s forthcoming album Lost at Last Vol. 1, due out Nov. 10 via Dualtone.

“Zombie,” the latest and most upbeat song off the Never Break EP, follows suit, though the main vein of the song is unrequited love: “She drank red wine in the pouring rain / She read me books about the human brain.” The woman Slim depicts in this song isn’t emotionally available beyond intellect and friendship—true to patriarchal form, Mr. Slim puts the mysterious mistress in the body of a monster. But he also puts himself in one. As Slim sings towards the end of the song, “he wanted her heart” in the same way a zombie wants the brain.

A larger theme looms for Lost at Last Vol. 1: Slim is desperate for real human connection. The songwriter sings the praises of a utopia in which we could live apart from the social rigidity of real jobs and retiring to golf courses, self-improvement and most of all, smartphones. Lost at Last Vol.1, he says, is an attempt to rebel against that form of living:

“In my own way, I pray for a soul or spiritual revolution where we disconnect from the horrible manufactured noise around us, and we re-learn to connect and love ourselves, each other and the universe as a whole: to look within. Everyone’s searchin’ for something better around every corner, but it’s already right here.  We’re all born whole, through livin’ we fall apart.”

Langhorne Slim’s newest collection gives a new-age meaning to the phrase “not all who wander are lost” by claiming that you should be lost … or at least actively trying to be lost. “Perhaps if one feels found, they have nothing left to find,” he says.

Stream “Zombie” and a Slim performance from the Paste Cloud below, and the Never Break EP here. Further down below, check out the Lost at Last Vol. 1 tracklist and album art, along with Slim’s tour dates. The album is available for preorder here.

Lost at Last Vol. 1 Tracklist:
01. Life is Confusing
02. Old Things
03. House of My Soul (you light the rooms)
04. Ocean City (for may, jack and brother jon)
05. Private Property
06. Money Road Shuffle
07. Never Break
08. Bluebird
09. Alligator Girl
10. Funny Feelin’ (for junior kimbrough and ted hawkins)
11. Zombie
12. Lost This Time
13. Better Man

Lost at Last Vol. 1 Album Art:

Langhorne Slim Lost at Last Art.jpg

Langhorne Slim Tour Dates:

16 – Bristol, Va. @ Bristol Rhythm and Roots Festival
21 – Jackson, Mo. @ w/ Avett Broters @ Thalia Mara Hall
22 – St. Augustine, Fla. @ Sing Out Loud Festival
24 – Bristol, Tenn. @ Pilgrimage Festival
26 – New York, N.Y. @ Bowery Ballroom
27 – Washington D.C. @ Sixth & I
28 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Union Transfer
30 – Roseland, Va. @ Devil’s Backbone Hoopla

Recently in Music