Blitzen Trapper Share Spirited New Single, "Wild and Reckless"

Music News Blitzen Trapper
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Blitzen Trapper Share Spirited New Single, "Wild and Reckless"

What started out as a stage production evolved into Blitzen Trapper’s forthcoming Wild and Reckless. The record uses seven songs from the half-musical, half-rock opera, which, per a press release, “dealt with heroin abuse, desperation, true love and western power structures.” The songs from the production were fleshed out, developing the theme further into the 12 songs that comprise the album. Blitzen Trapper released one of them, the title track, as a single today. Of the song, frontman Eric Earley says:

”’Wild and Reckless’ is about looking back on the crazy days of youth and wondering how you survived those sketchy times with danger eternally nosing at your heels. And when you look back now there’s this feeling like, I’ll never be as alive as I was then. Reality will never seem that vibrant and embraceable. Whether that’s true or not isn’t important, it’s just a feeling, life’s intractable ability to hoodwink us into seeing the past as a shining corona, even when there’s only darkness at the center.”

The lyrical content isn’t the only way “Wild and Reckless” represents the spirited western theme. From the harmonica-ambling start, the song channels a bygone era, continuing as a piano ballad until soaring guitars and energetic percussion amp up the tempo, turning into a classic rock ‘n’ roll anthem. Listen to the track below.

Wild and Reckless will be out Nov. 3, the day after the band kicks off a tour in Atlanta. See the cover art and tracklist for the album underneath the lyric video for “Wild and Reckless,” as well as the band’s tour dates, and while you’re at it, check out a Blitzen Trapper performance from the Paste Cloud. We premiered Wild and Reckless track Stolen Hearts back in April—revisit that here.

Wild and Reckless Cover Art:

Wild and Reckless.png

Wild and Reckless Tracklist:
01. Rebel
02. Wild & Reckless
03. Forever Pt. 1
04. Joanna
05. No Man’s Land
06. Stolen Hearts
07. Dance With Me
08. Love Live On
09. When I’m Dying
10. Baby Won’t You Turn Me On
11. Forever Pt. 2
12. Wind Don’t Always Blow

Blitzen Trapper Tour Dates:

02 – Atlanta, Ga. @ The Earl
03 – Durham, N.C. @ Motorco Music Hall #
04 – Richmond, Va. @ The Broadberry #
05 – Washington, D.C. @ Black Cat #
06 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Johnny Brenda’s #
07 – Cambridge, Mass. @ The Sinclairs #
09 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg #
10 – Toronto, Ontario @ Horseshoe Tavern #
11 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club #
12 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall
14 – Madison, Wis. @ High Noon Saloon
15 – Milwaukee, Wis. @ Turner Hall #
16 – St. Paul, Minn. @ Turf Club
17 – Iowa City, Iowa @ The Mill
18 – St. Louis, Mo. @ Blueberry Hill Duck Room
19 – Nashville, Tenn. @ Exit/In #
30 – Santa Cruz, Calif. @ Moe’s Alley #

01 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Bootleg Theatre #
02 – San Diego, Calif. @ Casbah #
04 – Mill Valley, Calif. @ Sweetwater Music Hall #
05 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Independent #
07 – Seattle, Wash. @ Tractor Tavern #
08 – Portland, Ore. @ Revolution Hall #

(# – with Lilly Hiatt)

Recently in Music