Ty Segall Announces Freedom's Goblin, Performs New Single "Fanny Dog" on Conan

Music News Ty Segall
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Ty Segall Announces <i>Freedom's Goblin</i>, Performs New Single "Fanny Dog" on <i>Conan</i>

We haven’t heard any new music from Ty Segall in about a week now, since he put out “The Main Pretender,” so he was pretty much due for another release. But this time, he upped the ante: Not only did he share a new song “Fanny Dog” on Conan, but he also used his appearance to announce his forthcoming album Freedom’s Goblin, for which the tracklist features a whopping 19 songs. Color us impressed—but considering Segall’s prolificacy when it comes to music, we didn’t expect anything less.

Freedom’s Goblin is the follow-up LP to his self-titled album from the beginning of the year, and is set to be released Jan. 26 via Drag City Records. It will feature Segall’s newest cut, which is about, you guessed it, his dog Fanny, as well as “Alta,” “Meaning,” “My Lady’s On Fire” and “The Main Pretender.” Also included is Segall’s fuzzed-out cover of Hot Chocolate’s “Every 1’s a Winner.”

When it comes to the overarching concept of the album, a press release explains it best:

The goal was getting free: embracing any approach necessary to communicate new heights and depths, seeking new places for the fuzz to land among octaving harmonies, dancefloor grooves, synths, saxes and horns, jams, post-Nicky-Hopkins r’n’b electric piano vibes, children-of-the-corn psycho-rebellions, old country waltzes and down-by-the-river shuffles. Basically, the free-est bunch of pop songs Ty’s ever put on tape—free to love or to be alone; to be pretty or pretty ugly; free to turn the other cheek or to turn up the volume. And of course, free to make just about any kind of song that’ll free people when they hear it—because we’re ALL Goblins and we ALL want our Freedom!

Watch Segall joined by the Freedom Band perform “Fanny Dog” on Conan here, and below, check out “Every 1’s a Winner,” and Freedom Goblin’s cover art and tracklist. Segall will be kicking off a tour in support of the album early next year, but before then, he’ll be playing a string of charity shows with OCS—see those dates below, as well.

Freedom’s Goblin Cover Art:

Ty Segall Freedom's Goblin.jpg

Freedom’s Goblin Tracklist:
01. Fanny Dog
02. Rain
03. Every 1’s A Winner
04. Despoiler Of Cadaver
05. When Mommy Kills You
06. My Lady’s On Fire
07. Alta
08. Meaning
09. Cry Cry Cry
10. Shoot You Up
11. You Say All The Nice Things
12. The Last Waltz
13. She
14. Prison
15. Talkin 3
16. The Main Pretender
17. I’m Free
18. 5 Ft. Tall
19. And, Goodnight

Ty Segall Tour Dates:

09 – Mexico City, Mexico @ Hipnosis Festival
15 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Teragram Ballroom [solo acoustic set] *
16 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Teragram Ballroom [solo acoustic set] *
17 – San Francisco, Calif.. @ The Chapel [solo acoustic set] #
18 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Chapel [solo acoustic set] #

24 – Solana Beach, Calif. @ Belly Up Tavern
26 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Teragram Ballroom
27 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Teragram Ballroom
28 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Teragram Ballroom

01 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium ^

03 – Las Vegas, Nev. @ The Bunkhouse Saloon
05 – Denver, Colo. @ Ogden Theatre
06 – Rapid City, S.D. @ URSA MAJOR
07 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ First Avenue
08 – Chicago, Ill. @ Riviera
10 – Detroit, Mich. @ Majestic Theater
11 – Toronto, Ontario @ Danforth Theater
13 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Brooklyn Steel
14 – Port Chester, N.Y. @ The Capitol Theatre
15 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Trocadero Theater
17 – Raleigh, N.C. @ Lincoln Theatre
18 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Variety Playhouse
20 – Birmingham, Ala. @ Saturn
21 – Pensacola, Fla. @ Vinyl Music Hall
22 – New Orleans, La. @ One Eyed Jack’s
26 – Austin, Texas @ Stubb’s Outdoor (Levitation 2018)
27 – Austin, Texas @ Barracuda (part of Levitation)
29 – Flagstaff, Ariz. @ Orpheum Theatre

(* – with OCS, Shannon Lay, all proceeds go to LA Kitchen)
(# – with OCS, Shannon Lay, all proceeds go to SF Homeless Coalition)
(^ – with Queens Of The Stone Age)

Also in Music