Metallica Set to Release 30th Anniversary Edition of The 5.98 EP

Music News Metallica
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Metallica Set to Release 30th Anniversary Edition of <i>The 5.98 EP</i>

Metallica  have announced that they will re-release The 5.98 EP: Garage Days Re-Revisited for the EP’s 30th anniversary on Apr. 13.

The re-release is part of the legendary rock group’s on-going remasters series through their vanity label Blackened Recordings. The original collection, released on Aug. 21, 1987, features covers of early British heavy metal and punk influencers like Diamond Head, Holocaust, Killing Joke and The Misfits. After the group’s careers exploded with the release of 1991’s Metallica, the EP was included in the 1998 multi-platinum compilation Garage Inc.

The remastered version will be released in various formats, including:

- CD
- Vinyl LP
- Cassette (limited edition)
- Lenticular Longbox (limited edition)
- Streaming and download
- Picture Disc ( exclusive limited edition)
- Red-orange LP ( and indie retail exclusive limited edition)

Fans can preorder the reissue here and receive an instant download of Killing Joke’s 1980 song “The Wait.”

Even after all this time, Metallica want to celebrate their influences and roots by giving fans a treat.

While you’re here, see the reissue’s tracklist and revisit Metallica’s epic Woodstock ‘99 set below, and find Paste’s picks for the 25 best Metallica songs here.

The $5.98 EP – Garage Days Re-Revisited Reissue Tracklist:
01. Helpless (originally released by Diamond Head)
02. The Small Hours (originally released by Holocaust)
03. The Wait (originally released by Killing Joke)
04. Crash Course in Brain Surgery (originally released by Budgie)
05. Last Caress/Green Hell (originally released by The Misfits)

Recently in Music