Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats Announce Tearing at the Seams, Offer up "You Worry Me"

Music News Nathaniel Rateliff
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats Announce <i>Tearing at the Seams</i>, Offer up "You Worry Me"

Nathaniel Rateliff  & The Night Sweats will return with Tearing At The Seams this spring, setting their sophomore album for a March 9 release on Stax Records. They’ve shared soothing lead single “You Worry Me” alongside the announcement—listen below.

“You Worry Me” is an inviting, upbeat anthem that opens with a simple and steady piano line, expanding to encompass a minimalist guitar riff, marching bass and Rateliff’s warm vocals. “I’m gonna leave it all out there,” the singer promises, his understated delivery doing nothing to dull the song’s infectious energy. It’s a real pat on the back of a track, a fortifying reminder that, in the face of life’s many obstacles, all we can do is “find a way to cross” and keep on pushing forward, while also leaning on the loved ones who care enough about us to worry.

“I want—and I need—everybody to feel like they’re a part of this band,” said Rateliff of the group’s new album in a statement. “I want them to feel like they’re contributing artistically and emotionally to the experience of writing and creating this music. We’ve all had to make sacrifices to be in The Night Sweats and I want them all to know that it’s worth something.”

The Denver-based octet recorded Tearing at the Seams in part with producer Richard Swift (The Shins, Foxygen), with whom they worked on their acclaimed self-titled debut, released in 2015. In his review for Paste, Eric R. Danton called Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats “an engrossing album,” writing that “while the singer and his band are drawing on a classic form, their interpretation makes for an exciting and contemporary sound.”

Watch the lyric video for “You Worry Me” and a 2011 Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats performance from the Paste Cloud below, and see the Tearing At The Seams tracklist and cover art further down—you can preorder the album here as either the 12-track standard edition or the 14-track deluxe edition, with two bonus tracks and exclusive photos.

Tearing At The Seams Tracklist:
01. Shoe Boot
02. Be There
03. A Little Honey
04. Say It Louder
05. Hey Mama
06. Babe I Know
07. Intro
08. Coolin’ Out
09. Baby I Lost My Way, (But I’m Going Home)
10. You Worry Me
11. Still Out There Running
12. Tearing at the Seams

Tearing At The Seams Album Art:

Tearing at the Seams Art.jpg

Recently in Music