Kacey Musgrave Details New Album Golden Hour, Releases Two New Songs

Music News Kacey Musgraves
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Kacey Musgrave Details New Album <i>Golden Hour</i>, Releases Two New Songs

MCA Nashville has revealed the details of Grammy-winning country superstar Kacey Musgraves’ fourth album, Golden Hour, set to be released on March 30. Along with the details of the album, two songs were revealed from the forthcoming release.

Musgraves’ latest release is the official follow-up to 2015’s acclaimed Pageant Material and her first release since her 2016 Christmas album A Very Kacey Christmas. The country star co-wrote and co-produced much of the album with Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian. This marks a departure in production from the usual suspects Luke Laird and Shane McAnally, who produced and wrote on Musgraves’ first two major label albums. In a press release, Musgraves spoke on the intimate nature of the album by stating, “I had a different mindset this time, which was feeling rather than thinking—leading heart first.”

That sentiment comes through in the first two releases from the forthcoming project, “Space Cowboy” and “Butterflies.” With “Space Cowboy,” Musgraves’ crisp, smooth vocals glide over a melancholy adult contemporary-meets-country production as she speaks of letting her man have his “space” while watching over him lovingly. Musgraves takes things up a notch with the uplifting country-pop sound of “Butterflies,” where her vocals soar while speaking on the freedom one gains when finding their life partner. The content seems to mirror Musgraves’ recent marriage to fellow country musician Ruston Kelly. The two tracks are available with a Golden Hour preorder and will be performed on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon on Feb. 26.

Along with the impending album release and her new singles, Musgraves will be busy in 2018 with series of national and international tour dates. She will be touring with country supergroup Little Big Town on the Breakers Tour from Feb. 23 through May 5. Following that tour, Musgraves will open for former One Direction member Harry Styles on his summer tour from June 1 – July 14. Alongside major tours, she will also be a part of country music festivals Stagecoach in Indio, Calif., and C2C: Country to Country Festival in London, Dublin and Glasgow.

With everything going on, Musgraves is set to have a huge 2018. The Golden Hour album art and tracklisting are below, along with Musgraves’ new songs and Daytrotter Session.

Golden Hour Tracklist:
01. Slow Burn
02. Lonely Weekend
03. Butterflies
04. Oh, What a World
05. Mother
06. Love Is a Wild Thing
07. Space Cowboy
08. Happy & Sad
09. Velvet Elvis
10. Wonder Woman 
11. High Horse
12. Golden Hour
13. Rainbow

GOLDEN HOUR. It was replenishingly transformational, magical, trippy, emotional, and FUN making this piece of music with my dear friends @thesilverseas @tronian (engineered by the ever-so-patient @craigalvin) The album was shot and designed by my little sister @kellychristinesutton in our hometown of Golden, TX ???? Two songs SPACE COWBOY (written with @lukerobert @shanemcanally) and BUTTERFLIES (written with @wruckestrike + @lukerobert) are out today and the whole album will be arriving on March 30th

A post shared by K A C E Y M U S G R A V E S; (@spaceykacey) on

Also in Music