Garbage Announce 20th Anniversary Reissue of Version 2.0

Music News Garbage
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Garbage Announce 20th Anniversary Reissue of <i>Version 2.0</i>

Iconic alternative rockers Garbage have revealed the details of the 20th anniversary reissue of their album Version 2.0, out on June 22 via Stunvolume/PIAS.

Version 2.0 was released in 1998 and it was the band’s second studio album. It featured some of the band’s classic singles like “I Think I’m Paranoid,” “Push It” and “Special.” Frontwoman Shirley Manson says of the album, “Version 2.0 is in my opinion the quintessential Garbage record. We are all very grateful to the millions of people who took it to their hearts at the time it was released and to those who continue to love on it still.”

The Version 2.0 reissue will feature the original album and 10 b-sides from the era. The album will be available for purchase digitally, and on standard and deluxe vinyl. The band has unveiled the first cut from the reissue today, “Lick The Pavement,” which was the original b-side to “Push It.”

Version 2.0 quickly went platinum after its initial release and went on to sell more than four million copies worldwide. It was also nominated for four Grammy Awards, including Album of The Year and Best Rock Album. The third single “Special” also received two Grammy nominations for Best Rock Song and Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group.

The band’s drummer and co-producer Butch Vig said of the lasting legacy of Version 2.0 and where it sits among the band’s discography:

Version 2.0 is the sound of a band growing up, evolving, and more than anything, gaining confidence. When we started recording, we made a conscious decision to not re-invent ourselves, but rather take everything we learned from our debut album and filter it through the new digital technology we were grappling with. Sonically, the album has moments of razor sharp clarity and soft beauty. Indeed, it’s possibly our best album.

Garbage will be play several live dates in support of the new release, where they will perform the album in full in addition to b-sides from the reissue. They previously announced a September U.K. tour, with more shows to be announced in the coming weeks.

Listen to “Lick The Pavement” via Spotify below (or your streaming service of choice here) and check out Garbage’s upcoming live dates further down. You can preorder the Version 2.0 reissue here.

Garbage Tour Dates:

04 – Edinburgh, U.K. @ Edinburgh Festival Theatre
05 – Glasgow, U.K. @ Barrowlands
07 – Bristol, U.K. @ St. Phillips Gate Arena
08 – Birmingham, U.K. @ Digbeth Arena
09 – Manchester, U.K. @ Academy 1 Manchester
11 – Nottingham, U.K. @ Rock City
12 – Newcastle, U.K. @ Northumbria SU Institute
14 – London, U.K. @ O2 Academy Brixton
15 – London, U.K. @ O2 Academy Brixton

Also in Music