Grouper Announces New Album, Shares Awe-Inspiring Piano Ballad "Parking Lot"

Music News Grouper
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Grouper Announces New Album, Shares Awe-Inspiring Piano Ballad "Parking Lot"

Grouper, aka Liz Harris, has announced her new album Grid Of Points, out on April 27 via Kranky Records, alongside a brand-new single, “Parking Lot.”

The California-based singer-songwriter and producer has been releasing material on her own label and other independent labels since 2005. Grid Of Points will be Harris’ eleventh studio album and her first since 2014’s Ruins.

“Parking Lot” is a beautiful, somber piano ballad with ambient folk flourishes and whispered, angelic lead vocals that fade in and out like the wind. Though her words are difficult to decipher, the intense, emotional wave of this track is still fully realized, and its warm purity and innocence reverberate long after it’s over. If you’re looking for a majestic, awe-inspiring track to listen to while wallowing in sadness, it really doesn’t get much better than this.

Harris told NPR that the track was inspired by a scene from the 1970 film Zabriskie Point. She says:

There is a climactic scene in the California desert — writhing bodies, frenzied dancing; anxiety and pleasure confused in a massive primordial orgy of symbolic transformation. Poetic depiction of the political and social turmoil of the sixties, a return to human nature, the raw chaotic power of innocence and the desire for change.

I was struck by how presciently the film captures an essence of the desert I had felt, the sharp contrast given objects by bright light, colors popping while also in retreat. Something psychological, and polar. Compression of experience. The heat an immediate reminder of our delicate mortality. In the desert it becomes small triumph simply to make it across a hot parking lot. In the brutality of its extremes we are reduced to puppets, silhouettes cast upon a screen, thrown upon a stage. Simple acts becoming heightened and more difficult, a series of amplified gestures.

Listen to “Parking Lot” below via Bandcamp, and check out the album art and tracklist further down. You can preorder Grid Of Points here.

Grid Of Points Album Art:


Grid Of Points Tracklist:
01. The Races
02. Parking Lot
03. Driving
04. Thanksgiving Song
05. Birthday Song
06. Blouse
07. Breathing

Recently in Music
More from Grouper