Listen to Howlin' Rain's Ragged New Single, "The Alligator Bride"

The first single off the band's forthcoming album of the same name

Music News Howlin Rain
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Listen to Howlin' Rain's Ragged New Single, "The Alligator Bride"

The “swampy, ragged and unapologetically rock ‘n’ roll” band from San Francisco, Calif., Howlin’ Rain, announced on Thursday the release of their fifth studio album, The Alligator Bride, set to drop on June 8 via founding member Ethan Miller’s very own label, Silver Current Records.

The forthcoming album was recorded with the help of engineer Eric “King Riff” Bauer over a period of three-day “live-to-tape” sessions at the Mansion studio in San Francisco. The album is said to be inspired by classic rock formations like the Grateful Dead, Mountain Bus and Frees. Yet, Miller attributes the magic of the album to the energy in Mansion studio, the same place that produced classic songs by Ty Segall, Thee Oh Sees and Mikal Cronin.

Alongside the album’s announcement, Howlin’ Rain also released the album’s title track, described in a press release as a “carnivalesque tale of American splendor.”

“The guiding principle for ‘The Alligator Bride’ was to create ‘Neal Cassady Rock,’” says Miller in a statement. “Which is to say, high energy, good-times adventure music, driving the hippie bus, shirtless and stoned, up for four days straight, and extremely fuzzy around the edges.”

In its lyrics, the single speaks about the past, present and future of the United States, conjuring images of powerful locomotives steaming down the American terrain. The singer seems to address an identity crisis in the country, calling for our nation’s citizens to remember what this country used to be. Miller addresses these concerns briefly in his statement, saying:

We’re in a vortex of futuristic events. At this present moment, we can still remember the way the train whistle sounded in the middle of the night, rolling through the dark on the ?outskirts of town. An old America before we walked on the moon, before TV, cell phones, and the internet. The song, and perhaps the entire album, ‘The Alligator Bride’ is about standing in the eye of that tornado of time—between the past and the present—in America.

The single itself reminds this listener of a musical element lost in today’s modern rock climate, sounding like something reminiscent of Bruce Springsteen, Bob Seger or any number of great musicians in the late ‘70s.

Howlin’ Rain is made up of Miller accompanied by Daniel Cervante’s slide guitar, Jeff McElroy on the bass and Justin Smith playing the drums. You can preorder their forthcoming album before its June 8 release right here.

Check out the title track from the band’s forthcoming album below, followed by Paste Cloud video of their 2007 performance at the Great American Music Hall. You’ll find the album’s cover art and tracklist further down.

The Alligator Bride Album Art:


The Alligator Bride Tracklist:
01. Rainbow Trout
02. Missouri
03. Speed
04. The Wild Boys
05. Alligator Bride
06. In The Evening
07. Coming Down

Recently in Music