The Gaslight Anthem Return with The '59 Sound Sessions

The '59 Sound companion piece features previously unreleased tracks

Music News The Gaslight Anthem
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The Gaslight Anthem Return with <i>The '59 Sound Sessions</i>

On June 15, The Gaslight Anthem will release The ‘59 Sound Sessions to mark the 10-year anniversary of their now-seminal album The ‘59 Sound (which Paste ranked on our list of the best punk albums of the 2000s). The new ‘59 Sound companion piece comes to us via SideOneDummy Records.

The tracklist for The ‘59 Sound Sessions contains stripped-down early versions of many favorites from The ‘59 Sound, as well as new, unreleased recordings of the tracks “Placeholder,” “Our Father’s Sons” and traditional folk song “God’s Gonna Cut You Down.”

The New Jersey-based post-punk band is frequently compared to older blue-collar rock acts like Tom Petty, Bob Seger and, without fail, fellow former Garden State resident Bruce Springsteen (the band throws in lyrical nods to “I’m on Fire” on The ‘59 Sound, and once even played onstage with the Boss in London).

The Gaslight Anthem  will also begin a North American and European tour in May, on which they’ll play The ‘59 Sound in its entirety. The last time the band played together publicly was at the Reading Festival in 2015. After releasing their humdrum fifth studio album Get Hurt, the band announced that they were taking a conscious uncoupling-esque “indefinite hiatus.”

In accompaniment, The Gaslight Anthem are also releasing a 60-page photobook detailing the months surrounding the recording of The ‘59 Sound. In the photobook, drummer Benny Horowitz discusses the impact the original album holds for the band, stating, “We were perpetually on the road and in a state of constant motion. I can’t think of a better time to try and create the most significant thing of your life when it was the most significant time of all our lives. I’m so happy to share this moment of our existence.”

Revisit Paste’s recent interview with frontman Brian Fallon here and his 2016 Paste Studio session below. The tracklist for The ‘59 Sound Sessions can be found below, as well, along with the album’s artwork and the stops on The Gaslight Anthem’s upcoming tour. You can preorder The ‘59 Sound Sessions here.

The ‘59 Sound Sessions Tracklist:
01. The ‘59 Sound
02. God’s Gonna Cut You Down^
03. Patient Ferris Wheel
04. Miles Davis & The Cool
05. Placeholder^
06. High Lonesome
07. Great Expectations
08. Our Father’s Sons^
09. Film Noir

(^ = previously unreleased track)

The ‘59 Sound Sessions Album Art:


The Gaslight Anthem Tour Dates:

27—Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
28—Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club

02—New York, N.Y. @ Governors Ball Music Festival

20—London, United Kingdom @ Hammersmith Apollo
21—London, United Kingdom @ Hammersmith Apollo
23—Dublin, Ireland @ Vicar Street
24—Glasgow, United Kingdom @ Barrowlands
25—Manchester, United Kingdom @ Apollo
27—Tilburg, Netherlands @ O13
28—Cologne, Germany @ Palladium

09—Toronto, Canada @ Rebel
10—Toronto, Canada @ Rebel
11—Chicago, Ill. @ Riviera Theatre

Recently in Music