Exclusive: Cicada Rhythm Release an Enchanting Music Video for "Shake Up"

Music News Cicada Rhythm
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Exclusive: Cicada Rhythm Release an Enchanting Music Video for "Shake Up"

Cicada Rhythm step out today with a swirling music video for “Shake Up,” off the group’s latest album Everywhere I Go. The video is what most good music videos are: an extension of the song, rather than a forced visualization.

Cicada Rhythm is the pairing of classically trained upright bassist Andrea DeMarcus and guitarist Dave Kirslis. The Athens indie-folk band has expanded its more singer-songwriter sound, and Everywhere I Go features additional classical strings, Hammond organ, electric guitar and pedal steel. The record was produced by Americana heavyweight Kenneth Pattengale (of The Milk Carton Kids), with additional production on a few songs by Oliver Wood (of The Wood Brothers).

The “Shake Up” music video is in itself a transformative art piece. Opening with dark and smokey shots of Kirslis and DeMarcus, it then slides to Kirslis lying unconscious in a hospital bed with DeMarcus by his side. DeMarcus seems to fall asleep and wake up in a dream world where she finds Kirslis, but is still separated from him in some capacity. The video glides between scenes in a classroom, a bowling alley and a repair garage. In the garage, it seems that whatever kept the two apart has faded and the dancing reconnects the two.

“Patrick Morales, who directed and filmed this music video, was also coincidentally an initial early inspiration when writing the tune,” says Kirslis. “Andrea and I love his first album (Whistling While the End is Near) from his band Viking Progress and thought it would be fitting for him to make the video.”

The line “It changes again, another twist” is represented strongly through the morphing environment of the music video. And with the song’s closing lines, “Breathes it some life and wakes you up and shakes you up,” the music video glides out of the misty, detached dream world to find a brighter light.

The recording process for Everywhere I Go follows the motion of the band, having been tracked in Tennessee and Georgia in a mix of studios, living rooms and gospel churches. The record embraces the traveling life of the band in its lyrics as well, and Cicada Rhythm will be pumping more life and movement into the album as they tour this summer with an expanded, now full-band lineup. Their East Coast run kicks off next Wednesday, June 13, in Durham, N.C.

Below, you can watch the Paste-exclusive video for “Shake Up” and see Cicada Rhythm play the song live at the Paste Studio circa 2016. Check out the band’s tour dates further down.

Cicada Rhythm Tour Dates:

13 – Durham, N.C. @ The Pinhook
14 – Richmond, Va. @ The Camel
15 – Round Hill, Va. @ B Chord Brewing Co.
17 – Hunter, N.Y. @ Mountain Jam
18 – New York, N.Y. @ Rockwood Music Hall
19 – Cambridge, Mass. @ Atwood’s Tavern
20 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Boot & Saddle
21 – Baltimore, Md. @ Creative Alliance, At The Patterson
23 – Elkin, N.C. Reeves Theater
24 – Athens, Ga. @ Athfest

12 – Abingdon, Va. @ Abingdon Music Experience – Thursday Jams
13 – Mount Solon, Va. @ Red Wing Roots Music Festival
14 – Bethlehem, Pa. @ Levitt Pavilion Steelstacks
15 – Washington, D.C. @ Pearl Street Warehouse

02 – Paonia, Colo. @ Pickin’ In The Park

04 – Keystone, Colo. @ Keystone Bluegrass And Beer Festival
05 – Casper, Wyo. @ Beartrap Summer Festival
11 – Des Moines, Iowa @ Summer In The City

06 – Nashville, Tenn. @ Shelby Bottoms Park

Recently in Music