15 New Audiobook Releases You Shouldn’t Miss

Books Lists audiobooks
Share Tweet Submit Pin
15 New Audiobook Releases You Shouldn’t Miss

During the holidays, it’s easy to miss new audiobook releases. But the final months of 2018 have delivered some captivating audiobooks, and these 15 titles (listed in alphabetical order) from November and December are worth a listen. These are the perfect audiobooks to keep you company as you travel or just plain chill throughout the holidays and into the new year.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

brutally honest.jpg 1. Brutally Honest: Mel B’s Tell-All Memoir by Melanie Brown

Narrators: Melanie Brown, Phoenix Chi Gulzar Brown, Andrea Brown, Zaraah Abrahams, Bruce Lester Johnson

Run time: 11 hours and 9 minutes

Release date: November 27, 2018

Audible Exclusive

With the Beastie Boys having just dropped their own blockbuster history of life at the front of the ‘80s and ‘90s pop charts, the time is right for another ‘90s giant to take over the shelves. Enter Brutally Honest, the new audiobook memoir from the Spice Girls’ Mel B. Melanie Brown handpicked Zaraah Abrahams to narrate, as the author struggles with dyslexia (which she describes in the behind-the-scenes clip below). With assists from Brown’s daughter and mother reading the essays they each contributed to Brown’s narrative, this audiobook sounds like a winter winner.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

dakota winters.jpg 2. The Dakota Winters by Tom Barbash

Narrator: Jim Meskimen

Run time: 8 hours and 38 minutes

Release date: December 4, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

John Lennon, New York’s gritty 1979 streets, the Bermuda Triangle, a family saga at a crossroads—these are the ingredients of 2018’s late-hitting literary blockbuster. With Jim Meskimen’s open, strolling narration, the audiobook is the perfect way to consume this striking novel.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

the fork the witch.jpg 3. The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm: Tales from Alagaësia (Inheritance Cycle, Book 5) by Christopher Paolini

Narrator: Gerard Doyle

Run time: 4 hours and 54 minutes

Release date: December 31, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

If you’ve stuck with Christopher Paolini since Eragon was first published, you’ll love his collection of three stories set in that world’s land of Alagaësia. This includes, as the book summary announces, “an excerpt from the memoir of the unforgettable witch and fortune-teller Angela the herbalist…penned by Angela Paolini, the inspiration for the character, herself!”

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

how long til black future month.jpg 4. How Long ‘Til Black Future Month? by N.K. Jemisin

Narrators: Shayna Small, Gail Nelson-Holgate, Robin Ray Eller, Ron Butler

Run time: 14 hours and 10 minutes

Release date: November 27, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

Short story collections are always fun on audio; you can hop in and out for great stories narrated by a variety of readers. But a short story collection from N.K. Jemisin, the Hugo Award-winning author of The Broken Earth trilogy? Now that’s a must-listen!

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

jeff wayne the war of the worlds.jpg 5. Jeff Wayne’s The War of the Worlds: The Musical Drama by H.G. Wells and Jeff Wayne

Narrators: Michael Sheen, Taron Egerton, Theo James, Adrian Edmondson, Anna-Marie Wayne

Run time: 5 hours and 4 minutes

Release date: November 29, 2018

Audible Original Drama

Just look at Michael Sheen’s face in the behind-the-scenes teaser video below! Just listen to that dramatic symphonic orchestration! It’s so extra, and we are here for it. This War of the Worlds is bigger and more atmospheric than the original radio prank could have dreamed of being, and it delivers hours of glorious entertainment.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

kingdom of the blind.jpg 6. Kingdom of the Blind (Chief Inspector Gamache/Three Pines, Book 14) by Louise Penny

Narrator: Robert Bathurst

Run time: 12 hours and 20 minutes

Release date: November 27, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

Dropping into the middle of an established mystery series can seem daunting, but I did it with one of Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley books earlier this year and found the whole experience fascinating. To that end, the combination of Louise Penny’s writing and the warmth of Robert Bathurst’s narration in the clip below make the newest Chief Inspector Gamache mystery worthy of a listen for new and old fans alike.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

light years.jpg 7. Light Years by Kass Morgan

Narrators: Maxwell Hamilton, Christine Lakin, Zach Villa, Karissa Vacker

Run time: 8 hours and 10 minutes

Release date: December 18, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

Kass Morgan, author of The 100 series currently in adaptation on the CW, proved years ago that she’s got a lock on what will love. And with her new YA space thriller, she’s still at the top of her game. Boasting another all-star cast, this audiobook delivers a gripping listen.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

murder at the mill.jpg 8. Murder at the Mill, A Mystery (Iris Grey Mysteries, Book 1) M. B. Shaw by

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins

Run time: 13 hours and 26 minutes

Release date: December 4, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

Something about winter begs for a cozy mystery, and there’s no better choice than one about a Christmas party murder in a quaint Hampshire cottage performed by a narrator with a quaint Hampshire accent. Maybe not all Americans adore this combo, but we absolutely love it.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

sister serial killer.jpg 9. My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Narrator: Adepero Oduye

Run time: 4 hours and 15 minutes

Release date: November 20, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

This Nigerian family drama centers on two sisters: one with a penchant for killing her boyfriends, and another with a talent for deep cleaning. As the brief clip belwo reveals, Adepero Oduye imbues that premise with all the wry familial irritation you could want, and her warm Nigerian accent is sure to be a draw for non-Nigerian listeners.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

new family values.jpg 10. New Family Values by Andrew Solomon

Narrators: Andrew Solomon, various

Run time: 6 hours and 15 minutes

Release date: December 6, 2018

Audible Original

The premise of this book as an audio project—”award-winning psychologist and writer Andrew Solomon [redefines] what it means to be an ideal family in America today” by drawing on dozens of intimate audio interviews with families from all across the country—is especially captivating. New Family Values is perfect for listeners wanting to learn and be entertained at the same time.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

the odyssey danes.jpg 11. The Odyssey by Homer, translated by Emily Wilson

Narrator:   Claire Danes  

Run time: 13 hours and 32 minutes

Release date: November 20, 2018

Audible Exclusive

Claire Danes’ reading of The Odyssey bolsters the vault of celebrity-read classics that Audible has been building for years, giving Audible members one more choice beyond the evergreen Simon Vance for whenever they want to dive into the depths of the Western canon. Beyond that, well, it’s Homer. It’s Claire Danes. What more could you ask for from one of the best books of 2018?

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

out of my mind.jpg 12. Out of My Mind by Alan Arkin

Narrator: Alan Arkin

Run time: 2 hours and 17 minutes

Release date: December 6, 2018

Audible Original

This memoir from actor Alan Arkin is both brief and narrated by the man himself. A win-win, as you wind down during the holidays!

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

secrets of winterhouse.jpg 13. The Secrets of Winterhouse (Winterhouse Series Book 2) by Ben Guterson

Narrator: Sophie Arnoss

Run time: 9 hours and 20 minutes

Release date: December 31, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

This ghostly Middle Grade mystery series is only just hitting our radar. But from the puzzle-filled premise to the warm, gravelly narration from Sophie Arnoss in the first volume, it absolutely screams winter break listening. Fans of The Westing Game, Greenglass House and The Mysterious Benedict Society will love this one.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

stronger faster.jpg 14. Stronger, Faster, and More Beautiful by Arwen Elys Dayton

Narrators: Michael Crouch, Karissa Vacker, Brittany Pressley, Christopher Gebauer, Ari Fliakos, Rebecca Lowman

Run time: 10 hours and 1 minute

Release date: December 4, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm | Overdrive

This boasts a plethora of grade-A narratorial talent for one book, before one even considers the fact that Hank Green blurbed this Black Mirror/Westworld dystopian debut as “a deep and suddenly necessary exploration of the beautiful and terrible futures we face.” You’ll want to listen to this one as soon as you can.

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 4.07.05 PM.png

sweet pea.jpg 15. Sweet Pea by C.J. Skuse

Narrator: Georgia Maguire

Run time: 12 hours and 22 minutes

Release date: November 27, 2018

Audible | Libro.fm

This is the second “sweet local girl is secretly a serial killer” book on this list, which is a bit unsettling. But Georgia Maguire’s light, sweet performance in the preview clip below makes this cozy British killer-thriller one you can’t miss.


Alexis Gunderson is a TV critic and audiobibliophile whose writing has appeared on Forever Young Adult , Screener and Birth.Movies.Death. She’ll go 10 rounds fighting for teens and intelligently executed genre fare to be taken seriously by pop culture. She can be found @AlexisKG.

Recently in Books
More from audiobooks