Video Premiere: Andrew Bird Break It Yourself Preview

Music Video Andrew Bird
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Andrew Bird’s highly anticipated follow up to 2009’s Noble Beast won’t hit shelves until March 6, but we’ve got a few exclusive details about his upcoming album.

The album is titled Break It Yourself and will be released on Mom + Pop records (out March 5 in the UK via Bella Union). It was produced at his Western Illinois barn-turned-studio. Break it Yourself is Bird’s twelfth album.

“We had our front of house engineer Neal Jensen bring his old Tascam 8-track tape machine and Yamaha board (nothing fancy) out to my barn,” Bird said about the recording. “We rolled tape as we were learning the songs and to our surprise we started nailing the songs by the second take. I think we got a rough, unfussy honesty in this session.”

Bird said the sessions for the album were a “mix of distilled, grounded songs and some wild soloing.” The band for the Break It Yourself session included long-term collaborator Martin Dosh on drums, Jeremy Ylvisaker on guitar and Mike Lewis on bass.

The album includes songs like the steel-drum heavy “Danse Caribe,” the instrumental “Behind the Barn” and the lush, eight-minute “Hole in the Ocean Floor.” You can watch a preview for Break It Yourself below.

Bird will tour in support of the album starting in March in Dallas, Texas and will wrap up his U.S. dates on May 12 in Chicago, Ill. You can take a look at the Break It Yourself track list and preview below. Also, take a look at Bird’s tour dates here.

Break It Yourself Tracklist:
1 - Desperation Breeds …
2 - Polynation
3 - Danse Caribe
4 - Give it Away
5 - Eyeoneye
6 - Lazy Projector
7 - Near Death Experience Experience
8 - Behind the Barn
9 - Lusitania
10 - Orpheo Looks Back
11 - Sifters
12 - Fatal Shore
13 - Hole in the Ocean Floor
14 - Belles

Also in Music