Song Premiere: Bruce Springsteen - "Death To My Hometown"

Music Audio Bruce Springsteen
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Bruce Springsteen  knows a thing or two when it comes to the American struggle. He’s written about it throughout the years, channeling a wide range of emotions towards his country. No matter his frame of mind, The Boss has always expressed his own unique patriotic perspective. With his forthcoming album Wrecking Ball, he’s taken on a discerning look at the hardships faced over the past several years.

On an record where Springsteen draws upon his anger and frustration towards the modern American struggle, “Death To My Hometown” skeptically observes his nation’s course.

“I have spent my life judging the distance between American reality and the American dream,” Springsteen commented earlier this week at an European press conference.

Living up to Wrecking Ball’s overall theme, “Death To My Hometown” is an Irish-laced rock hymn that lashes out with conviction. The album’s fifth song exudes Springsteen’s truculent message, one that stands as a rallying cry in the face of despair. His defiant anthem rings aloud as he sings: “They destroyed our families’ factories and they took our homes / They left our bodies on the planks, the vultures picked our bones.”

In addition to today’s featured track, Springsteen has also unveiled other tracks off the record earlier this week, including “Easy Money,” “Shackled and Drawn” and “Jack of All Trades.” If the album’s first five songs indicate anything, it’s that The Boss remains as good of a storyteller as ever while continuing to push himself as a songwriter.

“Bruce has dug down as deep as he can to come up with this vision of modern life,” longtime manager and executive producer Jon Landau said in a press release. “The lyrics tell a story you can’t hear anywhere else and the music is his most innovative of recent years.”

The New Jersey rocker has kept himself busy so far in 2012, performing at the Grammy Awards, gearing up for a worldwide tour and preparing for his keynote speech at South By Southwest. Springsteen’s 17th studio album, Wrecking Ball, arrives in stores on March 6 via Columbia Records. Pre-order the record here and check out tour dates here.

Wrecking Ball tracklist:
1. “We Take Care of Our Own”
2. “Easy Money”
3. “Shackled and Drawn”
4. “Jack of All Trades”
5. “Death to My Hometown”
6. “This Depression”
7. “Wrecking Ball”
8. “You’ve Got It”
9. “Rocky Ground”
10. “Land of Hope and Dreams”
11. “We Are Alive”

More from Bruce Springsteen