Song Premiere: Robert Ellis - "All Men Are Liars"

Music Audio Robert Ellis
Share Tweet Submit Pin

He’s been recording music for over three decades, but devoted fans would tell you that English pub rocker Nick Lowe has never gotten all the props he deserves. Fiesta Red Records founder and longtime music fan Rob Seidenberg apparently thought so too, so he assembled 13 different acts, including Hayes Carll, JEFF the Brotherhood, Caitlin Rose and Ron Sexsmith, for Lowe County—a tribute album that’s due out on Sept. 18.

This cover of Lowe’s cheeky 1979 classic “All Men Are Liars” comes from Robert Ellis, a Houston-based singer-songwriter who recently earned an Americana Music Association nomination for Emerging Artist of the Year and performed at our CMJ parties last October. With its steel guitar solos and vocal harmonies, the cover has a relaxed, twangy feel to it. It’s a fine example of Ellis’ potential as a charming folk singer in his own right—and he’s only 22 years old. You can stream the song and check out a tracklist for Lowe Country below.


1. Caitlin Rose – “Lately I’ve Let Things Slide”
2. The Parson Red Heads – “Don’t Lose Your Grip On Love”
3. Robert Ellis – “All Men Are Liars”
4. Amanda Shires – “I Love The Sound Of Breaking Glass”
5. JEFF the Brotherhood – “Marie Provost”
6. Hayes Carll – “I’m Gonna Start Living Again If It Kills Me”
7. Erin Enderlin – “Lover Don’t Go”
8. The Unsinkable Boxer – “When I Write The Book”
9. Colin Gilmore – You Make Me
10. Chatham County Line – “Heart Of The City”
11. Lori McKenna – “What’s Shakin’ On The Hill”
12. Griffin House – “Crackin’ Up”
13. Ron Sexsmith – “Where Is My Everything”

Also in Music