Radiohead: Live at Tramps in New York, N.Y. - June 1, 1995

Music Video Radiohead
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Recorded at New York City’s Tramps just three months after the release of their second album, The Bends, this exclusive concert sees Radiohead beginning to push the sonic experimentation envelope. Still two years prior to the group’s international breakthrough, OK Computer, the performance captures a less-experimental Radiohead, just as the band was beginning to break ground in America and when Thom Yorke’s singing and songwriting was becoming increasingly cryptic and expressive. As such, this high-quality recording is a clear indication of how compelling Radiohead could be on stage, even when still generally working within a framework of guitar-dominated rock.

Over the course of this performance, Radiohead emphasizes The Bends material, performing the album nearly in it’s entirety, including all five singles. An additional five numbers, all sourced from the band’s debut album, Pablo Honey (including “Creep”) flesh out this performance. Despite the bleak depressing nature of much of this material, the band often achieves exalted moments, typified by the final encore of “Street Spirit.” Here Yorke ruminates about his own insignificance over Jonny Greenwood’s ringing guitar arpeggios, bringing the performance to an ecstatic close with the final lyric line “Immerse your soul in love.”

Members can listen to one track from the show, “High and Dry,” here at PASTE.COM, and download the whole show in this week’s Sampler.

Live at Tramps June 1, 1995
1. The Bends
2. Just
3. Anyone Can Play Guitar
4. Bones
5. High And Dry
6. Black Star
7. Prove Yourself
8. Vegetable
9. Fake Plastic Trees
10. Planet Telex
11. Creep
12. My Iron Lung
13. Encore Applause
14. Thinking About You
15. You
16. Bullet Proof…I Wish I Was
17. Intro
18. Street Spirit