Bentzen Ball Records to Release Aparna Nancherla's Debut Album Just Putting This Out There In July

Comedy News
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Newly formed stand-up comedy imprint Bentzen Ball Records has announced its inaugural release: Aparna Nancherla’s debut album Just Putting This Out There.

The comedian who’s become a familiar face at comedy festivals across the country made numerous Comedy Central appearances and most recently served as a staff writer for NBC’s Late Night with Seth Meyers, will see her first comedy album hit stores on July 8. Nancherla tackles everything from food, travel, technology and more through her trademark, non-traditional and subversive punchline structure that reminds us that comedy isn’t all substance—it’s also about style.

The album, which Nancherla never considered recording, got off the ground with the help of Bentzen Ball Records helmer and stand-up comedian Tig Notaro, who encouraged Nancherla to “take the plunge.” Two of comedy’s most daring minds first met back in 2009 at the Notaro-curated inaugural Bentzen Ball in D.C. before Nachnerla opened Notaro’s historic New York Comedy Festival performance, during which she unabashedly bared her mastectomy scars onstage. The rest is history, including Nancherla being the first comedian to sign to the Bentzen label.

You can currently pre-order the album from Direct, Bandcamp, iTunes and Amazon. Get the full Just Putting This Out There tracklisting below, then check out this three-minute teaser for the album, where Nancherla tackles dessert as fruit and national tragedies as purchase totals.

1. Intro / Expectations
2. First Things First
3. How Did We Get Here
4. Thoughts on Sustenance
5. Traveling Bard
6. I Bring Up The Weather
7. Clothes For Discussion
8. City of Strangels
9. Blessed To Be Stressed
10. New Yawk City!
11. Work – Home Edition
12. Work – Office Edition
13. Almost Dating
14. Inner Monologue