Listen to an Exclusive Track from Caitlin Gill's First Stand-up Album

Comedy Features Caitlin Gill
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Listen to an Exclusive Track from Caitlin Gill's First Stand-up Album

Nothing is more attractive than confidence. Caitlin Gill realizes this. On this exclusive clip from her upcoming stand-up album, Major, Gill confidently takes the stage affirming the beauty of the audience and also her own beauty, building herself up into a righteous fury of positivity, before it all collapses into pragmatism and, uh, a very geographically specific joke about crossing the road. It’s called “We Are Beautiful” and even though I can’t see your face through this computer screen I’m inclined to agree with Gill. People are generally attractive. There’s somebody for everybody, so stay confident and positive and focused, and inevitably you’ll find happiness, or at least complacency. Unfortunately you won’t find the strength to angrily flip a small automobile whose driver was rude to you, but, like Gill, you can still imagine how good that will feel.

Major, which comes out on August 2 on Blonde Medicine, brings Gill’s particular comedic vision to the album format for the first time. There’s a good chance you’ve heard her jokes before, though. She’s written for shows like Hidden America with Jonah Ray and Cameron Esposito and Rhea Butcher’s Take My Wife, has guested on 2 Dope Queens and NPR’s Snap Judgement, and even written for the New York Times. Time Out LA named her a Comic to Watch in 2018, and used to run a show at the Hollywood Improv with Bobcat Goldthwait. And later this month she’ll be heading out on tour with Jackie Kashian and other friends, and following that up with a spate of dates in September. With Major, she’s poised to reach a bigger audience than ever, and you can get a sneak peek of that album with the exclusive track below. And beneath that you can find her upcoming tour dates. Take a listen, and remember: there’s a solid chance you might be beautiful, too.

Caitlin Gill Tour Dates:

15 – Santa Cruz, CA (with Jackie Kashian & Chris Fairbanks)
16 – San Francisco, CA (with Jackie Kashian & Chris Fairbanks)
17 – Petaluma, CA (with Jackie Kashian & Chris Fairbanks)
22 – Eureka, CA
28 – Portland, OR
31 – Seattle, WA (with Jackie Kashian)

7-9 – Boise, ID
12 – Denver, CO
22 – Los Angeles, CA (Album release / homecoming show featuring Open Mike Eagle, Meatball the Drag Queen and more!)