Diego Garcia

Nov 14, 2013 Futureappletree, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:03
  2. Start With The End 03:38
  3. You Were Never There 03:43
  4. Separate Lives 03:04
  5. Harvest Moon 04:58
  6. Donde Estas 03:23
  7. My Heart Is An Island 03:25
  8. Warm Winter Day 02:55
  9. She Dances 03:06
  10. Thoughts of You 02:52
Diego Garcia

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Patrick Stolley at Futureappletree Too

Diego Garcia embodies the lone light that burns bright above a door, late at night, when that's all a body wants and needs to see. It's the thing that one searches for through a heavy snow, through a slow-going, over hours and hours of ass-numbing travel, after so much has happened, after nothing has happened. It's this pillar, this lighthouse that is gravitated to through all pain and suffering, because of all the love that's needed, that was had and the love that's hopefully still waiting there for you when you step upon that stoop and put the key you've been holding onto into the lock. The handle might be cold to the touch, but there's a swelling and smothering anticipation that whatever might be waiting on the other side of the door is warm and beaming.

*Essay originally published December, 2012

Share Tweet Submit Pin
More from Diego Garcia