Hear What Final Fantasy IV Sounds Like on a Classical Guitar in This Exclusive Preview

Games Features Final Fantasy
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Hear What <i>Final Fantasy IV</i> Sounds Like on a Classical Guitar in This Exclusive Preview

Get ready to hear Nobuo Uematsu’s unforgettable score to Final Fantasy IV in a way you never expected: ripped hard on a classical guitar. That’s right, the instrument made famous by epic guitar heroes Andrés “The Andalusian Casanova” Segovia, Magic Miloš Karadaglic, and “The Jolly Brit” Julian Bream will turn your favorite Final Fantasy melodies into personal journeys of nylon stringed introspection on Guitar Collections Final Fantasy IV. It’s the latest album from Scarlet Moon Records, the label behind the Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies series, and it’s guaranteed to be the classical guitar videogame jam of the year. Don’t take our word for it, though: check out this exclusive preview of “Within the Giant,” only here at Paste.

Featuring performances by William Carlos Reyes of the band the OneUps, Guitar Collections Final Fantasy IV is the first in what Scarlet Moon hopes to be a new series of classical Final Fantasy adaptations. It’ll be out on July 19, but is already available for preorder on Scarlet Moon’s Bandcamp page, where you can also hear a few tracks in full.

For Scarlet Moon producer Jayson Napolitano, the combo of Final Fantasy and classical guitar fulfills a long-standing dream. “I’ve always enjoyed Square Enix’s Piano Collections Final Fantasy series, but I have a personal preference for the sound of the guitar,” he said via press release. “I wanted to produce a series of guitar albums starting with Final Fantasy IV, just as the Piano Collections series did. I also knew based on William Carlos Reyes’s past arrangements that he’d be perfect for this project with his ability to layer his performances in a very natural and pleasing way, and I couldn’t be happier with the result.”

If you like what you hear in that video, go check out that Bandcamp page. And if you’re a Final Fantasy fan wondering exactly what tracks will be on this album, here’s a full list for you.

01. Main Theme of FINAL FANTASY IV
02. Theme of Love
03. Welcome to Our Town!
04. Fight 2
05. Rydia
06. Melody of Lute
07. Golbeza Clad in the Dark
08. Troian Beauty
09. Illusionary World
10. Another Moon
11. Within the Giant
12. The Crystals (Original)

William Carlos Reyes photo.jpg