Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Guide: How to Unlock Everything

Games News Mario Kart 8 Deluxe
Share Tweet Submit Pin
<i>Mario Kart 8 Deluxe</i> Guide: How to Unlock Everything

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, the newly released Nintendo Switch version of the Wii U original, was just recently released and by now, you may be wondering how to unlock the rest of those sweet vehicle parts and special characters. Well, wonder no more! Here’s how to get what you’re looking for.


There’s only one unlockable racing character in Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, and that’s Gold Mario. He becomes playable once you win all the Grand Prix cups at 200cc. Once he is unlocked, he’ll appear on the character select screen in places of Metal Mario, who can then be selected only as a color variant of Gold Mario, with identical stats, animations, and sound effects.

Gold Mario Kart 8 Deluxe Switch How To Unlock.jpg

Vehicle Parts

Collecting coins may seem like a drag, especially because you can only get 10 per level, but keep plugging away: coins are the only way to unlock vehicle parts. For the first 50 vehicle parts, only 30 coins are needed, for a total of 450. At that point, the next 15 will cost you 50 coins, until you’ve collected 1200 coins total. After that, each will cost 100 coins.

There are also three special gold vehicle parts, which are unlocked in completely different ways. The Gold Standard is available by obtaining at least 1 star ranking on all Mirror Cups. The Gold Tires are unlocked by defeating all 48 staff ghosts in 150cc Time Trials. And the Gold Glider opens up after collecting a total of 5,000 coins.

If you still have vehicle parts to unlock, remember to just keep collecting coins! In the later stages it gets tough accumulating so much gold, but keep at it and eventually you’ll get that final item.