Mia Dyson

May 13, 2014 Daytrotter Studio, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:04
  2. When The Moment Comes 03:07
  3. When We're Older 03:10
  4. Crazy Horse 04:02
  5. Idyllwild 02:53
Mia Dyson

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Mike Gentry

We rarely know our own strength. We only occasionally know how we will react to certain situations. We never know all of our weaknesses. We vie for the clarity and the resolve that it takes to not get turned into mincemeat when we're challenged. We are sure that we love wrongly. We are positive we do it differently than we should. We move our bodies in ways that are unattractive. We don't go deep enough, just skimming the surfaces of everything we see. We dabble and that's never good. There's a chance though, according to Mia Dyson, that we might be victorious when it really comes down to brass tacks. We might be fools that need cradling, but we could wind up seeing in the dark, with a little nourishment and tenderness. Dyson's songs, on her brilliant new album, "Idyllwild," are little vignettes of the wanderings that we go on and the striving that we do that leads us to our hoarse recollections. They form the scenes that we scratch into our notebooks as life as we saw it -- as it happened to feel to us -- when we were most and least vulnerable.

Share Tweet Submit Pin
More from Mia Dyson