Bad Heaven Ltd. Announce New Album strength, Release Title Track

Music News Bad Heaven Ltd.
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Bad Heaven Ltd. Announce New Album <i>strength</i>, Release Title Track

Emotive vocals meet fuzzy guitar solos in “strength,” the new single and title track from Bad Heaven Ltd.’s forthcoming album.

As the latest musical project of Philadelphia-based indie musician John Galm, Bad Heaven Ltd. combines elements of emo-rock and folk to create a multi-faceted sound.

A former member of emo/lo-fi bands Snowing, Street Smart Cyclist and Slow Warm Death, Galm has immersed himself in multiple scenes over the years. His fellow Snowing bandmate Ross Brazuk joins him in this band as a bassist. Former guitarist Tyler Bussey of emo/indie band The World Is a Beautiful Place and I Am No Longer Afraid To Die plays guitar and vocals, and Melissa Brain is on drums.

This will be the band’s second full-length album, as they released Cool Hell in 2016, which featured rustic acoustic fingerpicking as well as tinges of electric distortion.

The video for “strength” depicts two silhouettes in the dimly lit Philadelphia bar Lorraine, as a raving television screen shows a wrestling match that flashes in synchronization with the pulsating electric guitar solos of the new track.

“There’s nothing strong about the song ‘strength,’” Galm says of the new single, which he explains is about “being young and thinking you’re doing a really good job, but you’re just young and dumb. A young dummy.” He adds that it’s also about “shrugging off reality. It’s not realizing how irresponsible you’re being; with yourself, with other people’s feelings, when you’re young and impervious to the realities of what comes next.”

strength will be released on Aug. 2, and will continue to put the genre-bending talents of the four piece on full display. See the “strength” video (dir. Dana Yurcisin) below, and the album art and tracklist for the group’s sophomore LP further down.

strength Album Art:


strength Tracklist:
01. inp
02. almost
03. strength
04. dung
05. stick around
06. 100
07. new boy
08. cross
09. gold
10. bed
11. forever