Bob Dylan Announces Tracklist For Upcoming Album Fallen Angels, Shares Sinatra Cover "Melancholy Mood"

Music News Bob Dylan
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Last month, Bob Dylan announced that he would be releasing an album called Fallen Angels later this year and going on tour with Mavis Staples. Today, he elaborated on that news: the album is out May 20.

Fallen Angels will consist of 12 tracks and, as was the case on last year’s Shadows of the Night, they’re all covers of classic American songs. (Dylan has nothing left to prove as a songwriter, we suppose.) He’s arranged them his way, as you can hear for yourself on “Melancholy Mood,” the single Dylan released alongside today’s news—using a smoky jazz guitar for the melody rather than a trumpet makes this far bluesier than the version Sinatra made famous.

Here’s the full track list for Fallen Angels:

1. Young At Heart
2. Maybe You’ll Be There
3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
4. All The Way
5. Skylark
6. Nevertheless
7. All Or Nothing At All
8. On A Little Street In Singapore
9. It Had To Be You
10. Melancholy Mood
11. That Old Black Magic
12. Come Rain Or Come Shine

Check out our list of Bob Dylan’s 15 best albums here.