David Bazan Will Release a Heavy Holiday Album, Dark Sacred Night

Music News David Bazan
Share Tweet Submit Pin

On Nov. 11, David Bazan will be releasing Dark Sacred Night, a holiday album that consists of songs he has performed with Pedro the Lion, as well as on his solo projects. However, this holiday album will not be one filled with typical holiday cheer. Instead, Bazan’s choice of songs reflects the melancholy that often accompanies the holidays.

In a press release, Bazan said, “There is something dark and underrepresented in Christmas music, and that’s just how uncomfortable the holidays can be for a lot of folks.” To capture this tone, the album includes songs such as “Silent Night,” “Happy Xmas (War is Over),” and a cover of Low’s “Long Way Around the Sea,” the album’s lead single, which debuted yesterday via Stereogum.

Dark Sacred Night will be out on Suicide Squeeze Records, who will be releasing a limited edition of the recordings on vinyl, and Bazan will do a mini tour of the West Coast behind the album. Find the Dark Sacred Night tracklist and Bazan’s tour dates below. You can pre-order the album here.

Dark Sacred Night Tracklist:
1) All I Want For Christmas
2) Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
3) Away In A Manger
4) God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
5) I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day
6) Jingle Bells
7) Silent Night
8) Long Way Around The Sea
9) O Little Town Of Bethlehem
10) Wish My Kids Were Here

David Bazan’s Christmas Miracle Tour Dates

4 – Phoenix, Ariz. @ Valley Bar
8 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Masonic Lodge
13 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Swedish American Hall
17 – Portland, Ore. @ Revolution Hall
18 – Seattle, Wash. @ Neumos