Julien Baker, Biffy Clyro Cover Frightened Rabbit's "Modern Leper" for New Covers Album

Music News Frightened Rabbit
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Julien Baker, Biffy Clyro Cover Frightened Rabbit's "Modern Leper" for New Covers Album

Fresh off announcing their plans to release a covers edition of their seminal sophomore album The Midnight Organ Fight to celebrate its 10-year anniversary, Scottish indie-rock outfit Frightened Rabbit have debuted its first two cuts.

Two alternate covers of the original album’s opening track “Modern Leper,” one reimagined by singer-songwriter Julien Baker and another by Scottish rock band Biffy Clyro, have now been released.

Tiny Changes: A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Fight will arrive on July 12 via Canvasback Music/Atlantic and will feature performances by Manchester Orchestra, The National’s Aaron Dessner, CHVRCHES’ Lauren Mayberry, Death Cab For Cutie’s Benjamin Gibbard, The Hold Steady’s Craig Finn, and Josh Ritter, among others.

“It felt like a good way to celebrate everyone who had been a part of the last ten years of the band,” the band wrote in their official announcement, “and we didn’t have to do any work ourselves!”

The release of Tiny Changes also serves as a commemoration of the band’s late frontman and founding member Scott Hutchison, who passed away in 2018 before the covers album saw the light of day. The album was “something he was very excited about and worked hard to bring to life,” the band said.

“This is a celebration of a record that connected thousands of people to Scott and connected thousands of people to each other and ten years on it is still managing to do it,” they added.

A portion of the proceeds from the album’s sales will go towards Tiny Changes, the mental health charity launched in honor of Hutchison to provide support for young people struggling with mental health issues.

Tiny Changes is available for preorder now, and each order arrives with a download link for the two “Modern Leper” covers.

Check out the two “Modern Leper” covers, the band’s 2011 Paste session, and the album’s tracklist and artwork, all below.

Tiny Changes Tracklist:
01. The Modern Leper – Biffy Clyro
02. I Feel Better – Oxford Collapse
03. Good Arms vs Bad Arms – Fiskur
04. Fast Blood – Right On Dynamite
05. Old Old Fashioned – Josh Ritter
06. The Twist – Wintersleep
07. Bright Pink Bookmark – Peter Katis
08. Head Rolls Off – Craig Finn
09. My Backwards Walk – Katie Harkin & Sarah Silverman
10. Keep Yourself Warm – Benjamin Gibbard
11. Extrasupervery – Jeff Zeigler
12. Poke – Daughter
13. Floating In The Forth – The Twilight Sad
14. Who’d You Kill Now – Aaron Dessner & Lauren Mayberry
15. The Modern Leper – Julien Baker
16. The Twist – Piano Bar Fight
17. My Backwards Walk – Manchester Orchestra

Tiny Changes Artwork:


More from Frightened Rabbit