Exclusive: KT Tunstall Shares Acoustic Video for "Human Being"

Music News KT Tunstall
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Exclusive: KT Tunstall Shares Acoustic Video for "Human Being"

KT Tunstall has unveiled an acoustic video for “Human Being,” one of the singles from her 2018 full-length WAX—the second of her announced trilogy of albums. This black-and-white video features Tunstall in the studio with Michael Jerome on drums and Cheryl Pinero on bass. Tunstall spoke with Paste about her new acoustic track and how her album trilogy is shaping up.

Tunstall told Paste about “Human Being”:

It’s about that cusp moment in a relationship where you have to really fully show who you are. You can only show your good sides alone for so long, at some point the shadow self needs to come out. And it’s scary, you don’t know if the other person is going to accept everything about you. The whole album is about the experience of physicality and the absurdity of our souls being trapped in this meaty existence! It’s the gateway song for me—it embodies my ‘Body’ album! It’s also a big step forward for me stylistically, using the heavy guitar riff and being centred around electric guitar.

She cited her love of Nirvana’s MTV Unplugged as part of her affection for acoustic songs and also added, “I believe that the appetite for acoustic versions comes from a need for lyrical honesty, and being able to appreciate people playing instruments well. Both of these elements are often occluded in the writing and production of contemporary music, and it’s important for me as a musician to remember that this is often the essence of what emotionally connects with a listener.”

After 2017’s KIN and 2018’s WAX, Tunstall is pleased with how her album trilogy has turned out so far. “I’m really enjoying the process of it. It’s a great feeling being in the middle of this creative arc, knowing there’s more to it and telling a longer and broader story. I think it will be an interesting collection of work once it’s all together, it will become its own thing. I just need to get cracking on the last one!”

Watch KT Tunstall’s new acoustic video for “Human Being” below and watch her recent Paste Studio session further down. Keep scrolling for her upcoming tour dates.

KT Tunstall Tour Dates:

31 – Chacalal, Mexico @ Girls Just Wanna Weekend 2019

04 – Dublin, Ireland @ Olympia Theatre
05 – Belfast, U.K. @ Elmwood Hall Q.U.B.
07 – Dunfermline U.K. @ Alhambra Theatre
08 – Aberdeen, U.K. @ Aberdeen Music Hall
09 – Glasgow, U.K. @ Barrowland Ballroom
11 – Gateshead, U.K. @ Sage Gateshead
12 – Northampton, U.K. @ Royal and Derngate
14 – Cambridge, U.K. @ Cambridge Junction
15 – Bath, U.K. @ The Forum
16 – Cardiff, U.K. @ Tramshed
18 – Brighton, U.K. @ Brighton Dome
19 – Leeds, U.K. @ O2 Academy Leeds
20 – Birmingham, U.K. @ Birmingham Town Hall
22 – Leicester, U.K. @ De Montfort Hall
23 – Manchester, U.K. @ Albert Hall
25 – London, U.K. @Roundhouse
26 – Guildford, U.K. @ G Live
28 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso
29 – Leuven, Belgium @ Het Depot
30 – Luxembourg City, Luxembourg @ Den Atelier

01 – Berlin, Germany @ Lido
02 – Cologne, Germany @ Kulturkirche
03 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Mascotte

06 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Imperial
08 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club
10 – Cleveland, Ohio @ Beachland Ballroom
11 – Washington, D.C. @ Union Stage
12 – Buffalo, N.Y. @ Iron Works
13 – Toronto, Ontario @ Horseshoe Tavern
15 – Pawling, N.Y. @ Daryl’s House
17 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ World Café Live
18 – New York, N.Y. @ Bowery Ballroom
19 – Cambridge, Mass. @ The Sinclair
21 – Nashville, Tenn. @ City Winery