Little Dragon Share Jazzy Single "Hold On," Announce New Album

Music News Little Dragon
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Little Dragon Share Jazzy Single "Hold On," Announce New Album

Grammy-nominated Swedish electro-pop act Little Dragon have announced their forthcoming sixth album, titled New Me, Same Us. They also shared new single “Hold On.” The track has house and jazz influences, but in classic Little Dragon fashion, it doesn’t quite fit into either, transcending category as a sort of oddly enticing, entirely danceable bop. Vocalist Yukimi Nagano’s voice is always a centerpiece of Little Dragon’s sound, and here she plays with classic soul sounds, building on the track’s house roots. There’s jazzy bass and soaring synth, and in a lot of ways, it’s one of Little Dragon’s simplest tracks since their more downtempo, trip-hoppy self-titled debut.

Of their new album, Little Dragon said:

This album has been the most collaborative for us yet, which might sound weird considering we’ve been making music together for all these years, but we worked hard at being honest, finding the courage to let go of our egos and be pieces of something bigger. We are all on our own personal journeys, full of change, yet still we stand united with stories we believe in, that make us who we are.

You can hear this collaborative spirit in a lot of places: both in the album’s title and in the track’s seamless production. Every moving part seems like a singular thought, and a little dialed-back for the often lovingly scatter-brained group. “Hold On” might point to refinement in simplification for the Little Dragon sound, a testament to their ability to make sonically interesting and cohesive music from disparate parts.

Little Dragon are set to embark on a big international tour kicking off in March. Several of their dates are already sold out. You can listen to the track and Little Dragon’s 2010 Daytrotter session below, and see the details of their new album and their tour dates further down. New Me, Same Us is set for release on March 27.

New Me, Same Us Album Art:


New Me, Same Us Tracklist:
01. Hold On
02. Rush
03. Another Lover
04. Kids
05. Every Rain
06. New Fiction
07. Sadness
08. Are You Feeling Sad?
09. Where You Belong
10. Stay Right Here
11. Water

Little Dragon Tour Dates:

09 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Berns
10 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ VEGA *SOLD OUT
12 – Berlin, Germany @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
13 – Warsaw, Poland @ Niebo
15 – Prague, Czech Republic @ Roxy
16 – Vienna, Austria @ Flex
18 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Mascotte
19 – Milan, Italy Santeria @ Toscana 31
21 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique
23 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Melkweg
25 – Paris, France @ Gaîté Lyrique
26 – London, U.K. @ 02 Brixton Academy

15 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
17 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Brooklyn Steel
18 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Brooklyn Steel *SOLD OUT
20 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Union Transfer
21 – New Haven, Conn. @ College Street Music Hall
22 – Boston, Mass. @ Paradise Rock Club
24 – Montreal, Que. @ Corona Theatre
25 – Toronto, Ont. @ Danforth Music Hall
27 – Detroit, Mich. @ Majestic Theater
28 – Chicago, Ill. @ The Vic Theatre
29 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ First Avenue

01 – Denver, Colo. @ Ogden Theatre
02 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ The Complex
04 – Seattle, Wash. @ Showbox *SOLD OUT
05 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Commodore Ballroom
06 – Portland, Ore. @ Roseland Theatre
08 – Oakland, Calif. @ Fox Theater
09 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Palladium
11 – Santa Ana, Calif. @ Observatory OC
12 – San Diego, Calif. @ House of Blues
16 – Guadalajara, Mexico @ Corona Capital Guadalajara