PJ Harvey Shares Previously Unreleased Song, “Guilty”

Music News PJ Harvey
Share Tweet Submit Pin

PJ Harvey has shared an unreleased song, “Guilty,” from her latest album, the provocative and critically acclaimed The Hope Six Demolition Project.

The song’s driving group drums and discordant brass and guitars make for a track that is much more brooding than the rest of Harvey’s latest effort, but juxtaposes the musician’s varying sound from her guttural ‘90s alt-rock to her jazz-tinged folk rock of recent.

“Guilty” is an agitated political diatribe that embraces the central theme of The Hope Six Demolition Project and frankly condemns what is believed to be justice and equality in the global perspective. The chorus features Harvey chanting in authoritative spirits, “Gritty little suspects / Running for the shelter / Drones that come / Come in the thousands / But nobody asked us / If we wanted them.”

The song comes after Harvey released new dates for her European tour this fall, following a few North American dates in August.

Listen to “Guilty” below, and check out Harvey’s tour dates here.