The Faint Announce First Studio Album Since 2014, Release New Single

Music News The Faint
Share Tweet Submit Pin
The Faint Announce First Studio Album Since 2014, Release New Single

Punk/electro-pop outfit The Faint are back with their first studio album since 2014, Egowerk.

Out on March 15, 2019, via Saddle Creek, the album is described in a statement as an “11-track deep-dive into themes on modern society, the internet, and ego—specifically social media and its dark effects.” The topic is timely, to say the least.

With the announcement came the album’s lead single, “Child Asleep.” With an unrelenting techno beat and chaotic synths layered and then layered again, the track threatens to overtake entirely. It’s hard to follow—in the best way possible—and grounded only by the monotone, single lyric: “If I was wise, I would see I’m a child still asleep.”

“It would be amazing if I could wake up from the world that I think I’m awake in already. If there’s a better way of understanding life, I’d love to be privy to it,” said vocalist Todd Fink of the track. “You see the wisdom of all Gurus in the East, and you know they’re not bothered by this or that. They’ve attained something, and the rest of us are just kind of banging into stuff, trying to figure out what to do with our lives.”

Paired with the track was am equally disorderly video, with constantly changing images making it near-impossible to look away. Like the album’s focus (society/the internet/social media), the video is attention-grabbing, despite the fact that there’s truly so much going on that it can be hard to focus in on one image.

Check out the track below, along with the Egowerk tracklist and album art, and find preorder options for the album here.

Egowerk Tracklist:
01. Child Asleep 
02. Chameleon Nights 
03. Life’s a Joke 
04. Alien Angel 
05. Egowerk 
06. Own My Eyes 
07. Source of the Sun 
08. Another World 
09. Quench the Flame 
10. Young & Realistic 
11. Automaton

Egowerk Album Art:


Also in Music