Make it Beautiful

Make it Beautiful by Candlepower
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:David Gray, Ron Sexsmith, Greg Laswell, Jackson Browne
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Blue Dime
  2. New Year's Day
  3. One Word Answer
  4. Gravity Loses
  5. My War for You
  6. The Speed of Light / River of Love
  7. Lean In
  8. You in You
  9. One Word Answer (unplugged)
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip

For Candlepower's second record, Scott Kauffmann enlisted a group of current and past Brooklyn-based artists, including Brian T. Murphy, Alex Foote, Melanie Penn, Brad Lyons, and Mason Ingram.

While this record was being made we were listening to, oh, Ryan Adams, Aimee Mann, Courtney Jaye, Crowded House, Kathleen Edwards, Tom Petty, Matthew Perryman Jones, and Ingrid Michaelson.

Make it Beautiful is a collection of hopeful songs for desperate situations. It was written in small rooms and obsessed over on the subway. It's louder than you might expect and more grateful than you might think.


Produced by Scott Kauffmann, Brian T. Murphy, and Alex Foote

Guitars: Brad Lyons, Alex Foote, Rob Ritchie

Piano, keyboards, accordion, glockenspiel: Brian T. Murphy

Bass: Brad Lyons, Ben Mars

Drums, percussion: Mason Ingram

Vocals: Scott Kauffmann, Melanie Penn, Joely Pittman Layton, Brian T. Murphy, Brad Lyons

Recorded in NYC and Vermont in 2010 and 2013

Engineered by Brian T. Murphy

Mixed by MD Thompson for Ivory Tower Productions, Houston, TX

All songs by Scott Kauffmann except "The Speed of Light" (Julie Miller) / "River of Love" (T-Bone Burnett)

Copyright © 2014 by Scott Kauffmann

For fans of:David Gray, Ron Sexsmith, Greg Laswell, Jackson Browne
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.