Catch Fever

You Have All You Need

You Have All You Need by Catch Fever
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Imagine Dragons, Bad Suns, Robert Delong, Coldplay, Radiohead
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Lost Love
  2. I Should Have
  3. Eyes On The Stars
  4. Our Turn, Our Time
  5. Some Things Never Change
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip

"The five-song EP, which clocks in at just a little over the seventeen minute mark, showcases the depth that these two bring to the table when they kick things off with the head bopping nature of “Lost Love.” The muddy, fuzz-induced bassline that steers alongside synthetic beats and a deep drum tone is hard to forget. The catchy and memorable lyrics behind the chorus almost create an anthemic chant that emanates inside your head as the song snaps along at a speedy pace. The duo’s use of dual vocals and backing vocal tracks keeps the energy high while you head bop with each note. They follow this with the darker and slower speed of “I Should Have.” The distorted guitar alongside clicky beats don’t deter from the sole vocal track, pierced by a lone piano that just amplifies the song’s likeable sound. If this is these two going the route of the ballad, they definitely found a new way to construct it. There are moments where the track is closer to a slow jam than a pop song, and definitely different from anything the band had done in the past.

The third song keeps the mixture of electronics and live instruments going on “Eyes On The Stars.” There’s an almost swooning quality to how singer Taylor Huffman sings in such a heartfelt manner, before Josh Wilson adds a chanting backing vocal. However, it’s the fourth song, “Our Turn, Our Time,” that not only hearkens back to the band’s earlier sound, but also provides the standout sound of the five tracks. Though the band employs electronics on the song, they keep those drums and guitar perfectly timed, keeping them in the pop rock genre without sounding lifted or dated. The band closes things off with the piano heavy intimacy of “Some Things Never Change.” Though this soft, slower pace veers far from what these guys have done in the past, they actually shine on the track, adding strings to the keys paired with Huffman’s singular vocals. The songwriting here shows a growth that so many bands in today’s music world never seem to achieve. The song never picks up its pace, but it works and it’s the best way to end such a diversely crafted album." - David Garrick / Free Press Houston


All songs written by Catch Fever.

Recorded and Mixed by Kevin Butler at Orb Recording Studios.*

Co-Produced by Taylor Huffman and Justin Nava.

Strings arranged and recorded by Stringpress. (Kevin Butler and Niamh Fahy)

*Vocals for Some Things Never Change recorded by Kenny Gardner at Murder On Tape Audio

For fans of:Imagine Dragons, Bad Suns, Robert Delong, Coldplay, Radiohead
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.