Furnace by Dead Man Winter
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Jason Isbell , Son Volt , Deer Tick, Ryan Bingham , Phosphorescent
Tip the Artist $5 Suggested Tip
  1. This House Is On Fire
  2. Destroyer
  3. Red Wing Blue Wing
  4. I Remember This Place Being Bigger
  5. The Same Town
  6. Cardinal
  7. Am I Breaking Down
  8. Danger
  9. Weight Of The World
  10. You Are Out Of Control
Tip the Artist $5 Suggested Tip

Sophomore full length solo album from Trampled By Turtles' frontman Dave Simonett.

Furnace marks a whole lot of firsts for accomplished songwriter Dave Simonett. It’s his first time putting his long-running, popular string band, Trampled by Turtles, on hiatus to focus all of his efforts on a more personal project. It’s his first time speaking so plainly and literally about something happening in his private life. And it’s his first time dedicating an entire record to a single topic — a topic so significant and intimate that he questioned whether or not he should even release it into the world.

The writing of Furnace came at the end of a 10-year marriage, a romantic relationship that started when he was only 19 years old, and a break from a band he’s been relentlessly writing for and touring with for the past 14 years. When the album opens, flames are flickering all around. “It starts right before the end of a relationship, going through that. And then it just gets worse,” he says, laughing at the sheer agony of it all. There is palpable sadness and moments of poignant reflection, to be sure, but Furnace also propels Simonett forward with an undeniable sense of newfound freedom.

For fans of:Jason Isbell , Son Volt , Deer Tick, Ryan Bingham , Phosphorescent
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.