Forest Sun

Brighter Day

Brighter Day by Forest Sun
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Jack Johnson, Amos Lee, The Avett Brothers, John Mayer, Van Morrison
Tip the Artist $10 Suggested Tip
  1. All This Freedom
  2. Brighter Day
  3. Hearts Beat and Take a Beating
  4. Baby Don't Worry (We'll Be All Right)
  5. When Will I See You
  6. One Candle
  7. If Our Time Is Over
  8. Windowsill
  9. Now That She's Gone
  10. Just Someone I Used to Know
  11. Knowing How It Ends
  12. Little Mountain
  13. Clarity

Emotional pain never feels good, but the self-guided therapy it often requires sure can sound good. So it is with songwriter Forest Sun’s ninth album, “Brighter Day,” and the 13 tracks he wrote in mapping a way back from a dark place to emotional clarity. 

A split from his wife after a decade together and the subsequent loss of one of his best friends, his father, sent him tumbling. He climbed back one song at a time, and rarely does a sense of desertion create such hopeful melodies. 

The lonely, winding trip he took through these songs works as salve for the listener too: Loss is a stranger to no one. From the questioning in “All This Freedom” and “When Will I See You?” to the coping of “Just Someone I Used to Know” and the dawning of hope in “One Candle” and “Clarity,” Forest invites the listener on a far better journey than he took. 

Gawain Mathews (Mickey Hart Band, Ben Lee) produced the album, which features Rob Hooper (Hot Buttered Rum, Seth Walker and Carolyn Wonderland) on drums and Alex Budman on horns. Backing up Forest’s crisp guitar and crystal-clear vocals are singers Kelly McFarling, Lia Rose, Noelle Hampton (Belle Sounds), Lara Louise and Ingrid Serban, Forest’s ex-wife. 

“‘Brighter Day’ is about being thrust fully into heartache and loss,” Forest says. “There is an acute awareness of impermanence that arose for me with the death of my father and the end of my marriage. This album morns those losses and looks for sparks of light in the dark. Writing, recording and sharing these songs lifted me up when I needed it most.”


Forest Sun - Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Percussion
Gawain Mathews - Harmony Vocals, Hammond Organ, Upright Bass, Electric Bass, Mandolin, Electric Guitar, Slide Guitar, Resonator Guitar, Pedal Steel, Acoustic Guitar
Ingrid Serban - Harmony Vocals - (Tracks 1,2,4,6,8)
Kelly McFarling- Harmony Vocals (Track 4,5,9,10)
Lia Rose -Harmony Vocals (Track 5)
Noelle Hampton -Harmony Vocals (Track 3)
Lara Louise - Harmony Vocals (Track 13)
Alex Budman - Saxaphones and Horn Arrangement (Track 6)
Rob Hooper - Drums
Kyle Caprista - Drums (Track 8)
Produced by Gawain Mathews and Forest Sun
Recorded, Mixed and Engineered by Gawain Mathews at Gawain Mathews Music Studio in San Pablo, Ca
Noelle Hampton’s Vocals engineered by Andre Moran at Congress House Studios in Austin, Tx
Mastered By Justin Weis
All songs written by Forest Sun
Copyright 2018 forestsunmusic BMI All Rights Reserved

For fans of:Jack Johnson, Amos Lee, The Avett Brothers, John Mayer, Van Morrison
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.