Jaye Bartell


Loyalty by Jaye Bartell
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Leonard Cohen, Nick Cave, Angel Olsen, Neil Young, Skip Spence
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Lily
  2. Come See About Me
  3. Dance with Me
  4. The Face Was Mine
  5. He Can't Rise
  6. Burgling
  7. The papers
  8. Loyalty
  9. Your Eyelashes
  10. Oldest Friend
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip

There are some musicians that cannot be casually heard. For the music of Jaye Bartell, background listening just will not do. His is an ethereal folk aesthetic with a misleading simplistic charm. And if your lazy ear is not careful, the result may bring a plague upon your house.

The haunting baritone vocal and its poetic delivery derives more from literary sources than musical ones. Combined with slow and pensive song structures, Bartell’s work calls to mind anything from romance, beauty, trust and hope; to fear, envy, sexuality and violence. That elaborate conflict is the very essence, and why his music holds such a mystique. This is outsider folk with a psychedelic pop bent. On “Loyalty”, his debut LP, Bartell is joined by the stellar lineup of Shane Perlowin (Ahleuchatistas) on electric guitar, Emily Easterly on drums and vocals, J Seeger on bass and Courtney Chappell on vocals. This is a truly powerful and provocative album.

Album also available on vinyl at http://headwayrecordings.bandcamp.com

Beautifully printed LP with lyric sheet insert. Includes immediate download of 10-track album in the high-quality format of your choice (MP3, FLAC, and more), plus unlimited mobile access using the free Bandcamp listening app. ships out within 3 days


Jaye Bartell, guitar, singing • Emily Easterly, drums, singing on “Dance With Me” • Shane Perlowin, electric guitar machine • J Seger, bass • Courtney Chappell, singing on “Oldest Friend” • These people produce their own work that can be found by way of their names. Recorded by Patrick Kukucka at Hi Z lo z studio with assistance by Dan Wiley • Mixed by Patrick Kukucka and Jaye Bartell • Mastering by Sean McCann at Recital. Cover design, album layout and insert artwork by Nathanel Roney. Disc label photographs by Aaron Goldstein.

For fans of:Leonard Cohen, Nick Cave, Angel Olsen, Neil Young, Skip Spence
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.