Kate Kelly

The Wonder of It All

The Wonder of It All  by Kate Kelly
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Norah Jones, Feist, Brandi Carlile, Joni Mitchell, Laura Marling
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. The Book We Made
  2. Friday Night
  3. The Garden
  4. Honey
  5. Sweet Nothings
  6. Daydreamer
  7. If The Moon Had Eyes
  8. Child Inside

On her new LP Kate Kelly weaves together threads of airy jazz, piano-pop, and woozy folk into a tapestry that wraps around the listener like a summer breeze. Possessed of an easy elegance, Kelly’s voice waltzes through verdant fields of melody, all warmth and sunshine. Yet peek beneath the surface, and you’ll see a record that was born of its creator’s quest to find solace in a world of stormy emotional seas.

“It is worth noting that 2017, when this album was being written, was one of the most challenging years I’ve experienced thus far” says Kelly. Retreating into a child-like inner space to find solace from the pain she was feeling, Kelly turned to an exploration of nature and life’s innate beauty as her lyrical thesis. “Each “symbol” in the record (honey, the garden, the moon, etc.) is something in nature that helped me overcome my troubles. Each totem taught me a specific lesson; all because I immersed myself in ‘The Wonder Of It All’.”

Listening to The Wonder Of It All it’s safe to say Kelly achieved her intention.The Wonder Of It All would pair wonderfully with a cup of chamomile and a purring kitty (or perhaps a garden party and a few bottles of rosé). “I hope this record inspires listeners to wander and daydream, and find a moment to escape from pain, just like it was and continues to be for me.”


Produced by Iron Oak’s Andrew Conner with Zach Hughes (Lost Harbor Music), the record features Kelly on vocals and acoustic guitar, as well as Andy Cata (keys and synth), Luke Enyeart (electric guitar), David Crutcher (organ), Scooter Spicer (drums), Thomas Altman (bass), Julia Meredith (sax), Chris Baldani (trombone), and Emmanuel Echem (trumpet)

For fans of:Norah Jones, Feist, Brandi Carlile, Joni Mitchell, Laura Marling
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.