Kate Tucker

Something from Nothing

Something from Nothing  by Kate Tucker
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Neko Case, Cat Power, Ryan Adams, Angel Olsen, Courtney Barnett
Tip the Artist $8 Suggested Tip
  1. Blue Hotel
  2. Let Me Go
  3. Faster than Cars Drive
  4. Revolution
  5. It's True
  6. In Your Arms
  7. Where Are You (I Am Already Gone)
  8. First to Leave
  9. In the End
  10. You Belong to Love

In this brand new collection, Kate Tucker takes us through a decade of recordings, including two new songs from her forthcoming album, Practical Sadness, out April 6, 2018 as well as an unreleased bonus track from a new collaboration with Gregory Lattimer.

Kate Tucker is a Nashville-based songwriter, singer, and guitarist. She fronts Kate Tucker and the Sons of Sweden and is also one half of the pop duo Little Reader. Tucker’s solo work ventures from the shimmering landscapes of KT+SOS to explore a deeper shades of rock, reflecting early Stones, The Velvet Underground and Courtney Barnett, with occasional forays into a land inhabited by Cat Power, Mazzy Star and David Lynch.

Growing up in a family of truck drivers, Tucker became acquainted with the American road from an early age. A sense of place, space, home, and the vast unknown continues to inform her work in both mood and lyric. Perhaps this frequent travel set in motion what would become her own musical journey, cutting her teeth in Akron rock clubs, moving to France to busk in the streets of Paris, setting off for Seattle to start a band, only to hit the road again for NYC to finally land in Nashville, Tennessee.

In the midst of this, she’s built a strong catalog of work and garnered a devoted fan base grassroots style, releasing everything on her own independent label, Red Valise Recordings. Her songs have charted both college and commercial radio, landing spots on numerous TV shows, feature films, and compilations. After touring extensively with Sons of Sweden for The Shape The Color The Feel visual album, Tucker returned to the studio, this time for Little Reader, a sunny pop project with Broken West (Merge Records) singer Ross Flournoy. Their debut album, The Big Score, came out in 2017.

2018 brings the premiere of The Shape The Color The Feel documentary, following the creative community that emerged around what Huffington Post called an “admirably ambitious” project led by Tucker to record and release a full length album on vinyl, with thirteen music videos, three short films, and a documentary. Kate’s new solo LP, Practical Sadness, is out April 6, 2018. You can pre-order the record on vinyl, CD and other fine formats through PledgeMusic. https://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/katetucker


All songs written by Kate Tucker except "Blue Hotel" by Kate Tucker, Wes Chandler, Matthew Thompson, Ethan Place; "Let Me Go" by Kate Tucker and Allen Salmon; "In Your Arms" by Kate Tucker and Kenny Childers; "It's True" by Kate Tucker and Preston Lovinggood; and "You Belong to Love" by Kate Tucker and Gregory Lattimer, from "The Shape The Color The Feel," "Kate Tucker & the Sons of Sweden," "Ghost of Something New," "White Horses," and forthcoming LP "Practical Sadness" out April 6, 2018. Pre-order vinyl, CD and digital formats on PledgeMusic.

For fans of:Neko Case, Cat Power, Ryan Adams, Angel Olsen, Courtney Barnett
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.