Mac MacKenzie

Lo, A Great Light Has Come

Lo, A Great Light Has Come by Mac MacKenzie
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Hector Zazou, The Chieftains, Loreena McKennit
Tip the Artist $5 Suggested Tip
  1. Planxty Warnock.mp3
  2. Lo A Great Light Has Come:In The Company Of Friends.mp3
  3. The Young Suitor.mp3
  4. Amhran Nan Leabhar.mp3
Tip the Artist $5 Suggested Tip

A Journey Of The Imagination

Lo, A Great Light Has Come is a four song EP that will take you on a journey of the imagination. Featuring the Uilleann Pipes, a distinctly Irish instrument with a sweet, mellow, haunting sound and accompanied by a fusion of traditional Irish and classical instruments, these tunes — penned by Mac MacKenzie —surely would have sat comfortably in the repertoire of the Baroque/Classical period Irish harpers and pipers.

Track List and Description

  1. Planxty Warnock. It is not completely certain where the term "Planxty" originated. though some claim that it originated from the Gaelic word 'sláinte' (health), while others claim that the word was used to hide the true identity of the composer during the penal law era in Ireland, when traditional Irish song was banned. If you look at any online dictionary, you'll find 'planxty' defined as perhaps a 'medieval lament' or 'mournful tune written for the harp.' Another possibility is that it is an Anglicization of an Irish phrase meaning 'from the house of', which seems to fit the pattern of tunes written by the famous harper, Turlough O' Carolan. In essence, a planxty is a tune dedicated to a person or family and is the way the word is used in the title of this tune. Mac wrote this tune in 2011 for good friends and patrons of the same name.
  2. Lo, A Great Light Has Come. The title track of this EP is actually composed of two enchanting tunes that will take you to another time and another place. Written by Mac in 2011 and blended together in one set, 'Lo, A Great Light Has Come' and 'In The Company of Friends,' this set features the beautifully haunting Uilleann Pipes, along with a fusion of harp, tin whistle, flute, bodhran, pipe organ, harpsichord and strings.
  3. The Young Suitor. The Young Suitor is a bright, lively dance piece comprised of two Irish-style mazurkas, 'The Young Suitor' and 'The Merry Month Of May.' In this set, you'll hear the distinct sound of the Appalachian Dulcimer a folk instrument in the ancient Zither family. Though not historically a traditional Irish instrument, the Appalachian Dulcimer captures the spirit of the style and adds a unique flair and energy to the music.
  4. Amhrán an Leabhar. This traditional Irish ayre means Song of the Book. There is a story of a priest who once was crossing the narrows in his coracle. In those days, books were valuable and highly treasured, as they were produced entirely by hand, which was a time-consuming and expensive process. The priest had with him in the boat that day, a book that was quite dear to him. But the sea was particularly rough and the boat began to careen from side to side. As the priest tried to stabilize the boat, his precious book fell into the water and was lost forever. It is said, this song was written as he lamented the loss of his literary treasure. On this track, Mac performs Amhrán an Leabhar solo on the Uilleann Pipes.

Copyright 2011-2013 by Robert (Mac) MacKenzie.

All tracks except, (4) Amhrán Leabhar written by Mac MacKenzie. Arrangement for Amhrán an Leabhar by Mac MacKenzie.

Performed, recorded, engineered and mastered by Mac MacKenzie.

For fans of:Hector Zazou, The Chieftains, Loreena McKennit
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.