Spenser Liszt

Until Further Notice

Until Further Notice by Spenser Liszt
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Donny McCaslin, Joshua Redman, Mark Turner, Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Hyperbolic Time Chamber
  2. Relief
  3. Until Further Notice
  4. Mr. David
  5. Troll Dance
  6. The Observatory
  7. Improvisation

In Until Further Notice, Spenser Liszt establishes himself as a fresh new voice for jazz. His music, melody and motive, brings something that sounds familiar into new form. Spenser’s choice of bandmates on this album is genius: Matt Young on drums, Perrin Grace on bass, and Addison Frei on keys (also known as labelmates, AMP Trio).

The album opens contemplatively with the odd metered Hyperbolic Time Chamber. Spenser plays an ascending saxophone melody over profound commentary in the rhythm section. Perrin, Addison and Matt are featured in solos before Spenser takes this tune to its cliffhanger.

Relief is a song written about a past love, featuring the voices of Fall River Footmen, Sean Giddings, Mikaela Kahn, and Sean Casey, as well as vocalist Jordan Coffing. Drums and bass lay down a killer groove, toying with one's sense of meter before distant sounding voices float over. The lyrics, “We must find relief,” resound between saxophone and keys solos. Everything Addison Frei does is magic, and his solo in this tune will make you agree.

In Until Further Notice, tension is felt. Acoustic piano and sustained bass lays a haunting foundation, while drums pull what lies beneath onto the surface. Spenser plays an introspective solo, followed by piano, building up to a maddening release of emotion in the drums. This lays the foundation for the heartbreaking live recording of Mr. David, written about Spenser's late father, to whom this album is dedicated. Where loss reduces and paralyzes most, it inspired Spenser to dig deeper in his journey as a musician.

Troll Dance delivers on its title, playing menacing, descending lines in a deceiving mixed meter. These guys are up to no good. This is fun simply for the images the tune creates in one mind, a bunch of trolls getting down.

The perfect song for getting from A to B is heard in The Observatory. The funky groove is laid down by the rhythm section. Perrin Grace digs hard into his strings on the bass solo. Feet will tap, heads will bop.

Spenser switches to bass clarinet and wraps the album on Improvisation. Played solo, Spenser appropriately recalls a line from Mr. David.

Spenser Liszt's group is a tour de force, presenting Until Further Notice as a beautifully unified album that will inspire listeners to press repeat.


Produced by Spenser Liszt

Spenser Liszt - Tenor Saxophone

Addison Frei - Keyboard and Piano

Perrin Grace - Electric and Upright Bass

Matt Young - Drumset

Sean Giddings, MiKaela Kahn, Jordan Coffing, Sean Casey - Vocals

Armored Records ARCD8032

For fans of:Donny McCaslin, Joshua Redman, Mark Turner, Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.