The Many

Advent & Christmas - Vol. 1

Advent & Christmas - Vol. 1 by The Many
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:The Liturgists, Gungor, Israel Houghton, Matt Maher
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Holy is Your Name
  2. Room For Us All
  3. Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  4. Longest Nights
  5. Comfort, Comfort Ye My People
  6. Remember Mercy
  7. In This World
  8. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
  9. God With Us
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip

Advent & Christmas -Vol. 1 was our band's first release and was chosen as one of the 6 best Christmas albums of 2015 by Under the Radar, a weekly syndicated radio program highlighting the “best undiscovered and under-appreciated tunes from Christian artists." Cross Rhythms UK called it "nothing short of stunning."

The original songs in this collection speak of both faith and doubt, despair and hope, lament and longing. Many of them came out of reflection on The Magnificat, Mary's song from Luke 1, and the story of Jesus' birth, and how those words from so long ago resonate with our current headlines, how, like so many on our planet today, Jesus was born without privilege or power or even a welcoming bed. These songs grew out of our questions too...questions about how we can possibly live the Advent themes of Hope, Joy, Peace and Love in the midst of a world that feels so broken, so polarized, so wounded by racism and fear and inequality. We've also included three songs you will probably recognize -- traditional Advent and Christmas carols -- newly arranged, with some lyrics slightly altered to be (at least, a little) more inclusive in their language. Our hope is that all these will be songs others could sing as well... In congregations, small groups, wherever people gather to worship, pray, imagine, hope for and work towards a new day, a new way, where love and mercy win. Lyrics for all the songs and sheet music for Remember Mercy and Holy Is Your Name are included in your download. Join us in conversation at


Recorded during 2015 at Foxhall Studios, Chicago. Produced by Gary Rand and Dorian Gehring. Engineered by Dorian Gehring. Featuring Hannah Rand, Olivia Harris, Leslie Michele, lead vocals; Jack Harris, vocals, guitar; Gary Rand, vocals, guitar, Jordan Stacey, vocals, bass; Julian Stacey, vocals, drums; Dorian Gehring, guitar; Rob Clearfield, keyboards; Rob Wildeboer, keyboards, Jon Deitmeyer, drums, Paul Harris, drums, Christian Moder, drums. Additional vocals: Torri Hamilton, Rachel Douglas Swanson, Cindy Stacey, Caronina Grimble, Chris Stacey, Johanna Thompson, Paul Harris. Original songs written by Hannah Rand, Lenora Rand & Gary Rand, except Remember Mercy - lyrics by Lenora Rand, music by Elsa Harris & Gary Rand. Christmas carol arrangements by Hannah Rand.

Album cover art from a painting by Scott Beahm. Special thanks to LaSalle Street Church, Chicago, where many of the folks on this album find themselves (and each other), most Sundays.

For fans of:The Liturgists, Gungor, Israel Houghton, Matt Maher
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.