Sama Dams

Nov 6, 2013 Daytrotter Studio, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:07
  2. Bonneville Power Administration 03:29
  3. Coyote Dreams In The City 06:20
  4. Pretty Ghosts 03:22
  5. Golden Only Not 03:43
  6. Figures 03:52
Sama Dams

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Mike Gentry

This Portland, Oregon songwriter finds that he needs to regroup often, to collect himself because there's no stability to be found. He finds himself crawling, when he's normally used to walking. His songs feel like a blend of Sondre Lerche's sweet melodies and tunefulness and the eccentricities of David Longstreth and the Dirty Projectors. It's glazed with brilliantly heated moments, when the alarms and whistles are blaring, before settling back down again, to wade through what just happened, what set it all off. He kinda knows it could have been anything and all that means is that there's no preventing it the next time, just like there was no way to prevent it this last time. He sings of the crapshoot - of his contributions and those of others. He sings, "I know I'm a liar cause I feel it all," as if there are no greater bullshit detectors than the feelers, those who can't seem to find the means to ends, just a little more feeling, just a little more irking of the dining tiger.
*Essay originally published July, 2012

Share Tweet Submit Pin
More from Sama Dams