The Gallery

Mar 8, 2014 Daytrotter Studio, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:05
  2. Catalyst 04:05
  3. Ballroom of Broken Hearts 03:48
  4. Restless Soul 03:52
  5. Wild At Heart 03:31
The Gallery

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Mike Gentry

Welcome to a land of wounded folks. The population soars with every passing day. The defects are impossible to completely quantify. They cover such a wide range that they all feel brand new when you hear about them. Any collection of songs by The Gallery is full of all the pulpiness of living that we gather around us. It's all of those situations that soften us and smooth out the rough edges. It's everything that turns our muscle to mush -- the way apples bruise -- and everything that tends to make us more liable to shed tears as we age. They sing of all the catches that we never see until their breath's hot on our cheeks and we're eye-to-eye with them. They sing of how truth and love fail us, but we foolishly or wisely never hold it against either. These somehow sound like the half-victory songs of the common people.

Share Tweet Submit Pin
More from The Gallery